SEARCH GO
CHAPPIE Review

CHAPPIE Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Director Neil Blomkamp surprised the world with his science fiction tale District 9, but did the exact opposite by following up with Elysium (which I happened to love). So he was 50-50 coming into Chappie. The premise seemed like it had a familiar flavor. The story seemed relevant, depicting mankind’s race toward the advancement of artificial intelligence. It appeared to be a visual gem that most couldn’t wait to add to their Blu-ray/DVD collection. Did it live up to all the high e

Read More
SEVENTH SON Review

SEVENTH SON Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Have you ever heard of this movie before? I hadn’t until the TV spots graced my screen. Action, adventure, fantasy, witches, goblins, and ghouls all balled up into one to make a cinematic experience. The trailers didn’t suggest a movie with a large budget, but who cares? Sometimes, as an audience member, you just want to be sucked into a world that you have never seen before and appreciate everything it has to offer. Seventh Son has a lot to offer, but gives you

Read More
THE PURGE: ANARCHY Review

THE PURGE: ANARCHY Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

The Purge: Anarchy is an interesting piece that accomplished what the first film didn’t. It was an extremely clever idea that raised a few questions on what the possible future could entail. It was the rebirth of a nation that some agreed with, and others were repulsed with. Majority would hope that the premise would never come to fruition in the real world, but it peaked the interest of the masses on a new twisted take on life. Unfortunately, this great idea was packed down to a home in

Read More
DAWN OF THE PLANET OF THE APES Review

DAWN OF THE PLANET OF THE APES Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I can admit after seeing Rise of The Planet of The Apes I was a little disappointed that director Rupert Wyatt wasn’t coming back for the sequel. It’s not always a guarantee that directors returning will guarantee a hit, but it’s nice to imagine the chemistry created develops a cohesiveness with the cast and crew that feels like a warm family gathering during the holidays. Though at times a fresh artist can pick up where the last great one left off, and deliver something grou

Read More
TAMMY Review

TAMMY Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

While no one had any high expectations, I think it’s safe to say that Melissa McCarthy’s character in Bridesmaids surprised everyone. She hit the screen strong and fierce in a role that was funny, clever, and very unpredictable. She’s very talented with all the charisma in the world, and possibly will have an even stronger acting career in the future, if not already. I may only feel that way depending on whether she creates the characters herself, or leaves that job to someon

Read More
DELIVER US FROM EVIL Review

DELIVER US FROM EVIL Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Today when a film states it’s based on a true story you have to read between the lines. Besides the filmmakers themselves, one can’t be too sure on how true the story being told really is. One needs to actually pay attention to the wording that’s presented and go from there. There are so many variations, and in this case it states ‘Inspired by the actual accounts of an NYPD Sergeant.` That may be the case but where do you draw the line? Part of the marketing suggests th

Read More
EARTH TO ECHO Review

EARTH TO ECHO Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I love it when a film is self-aware, knowing its target audience. For that this one receives high merits. Even if you aren’t in the target range there’s still much to enjoy with ‘Earth to Echo.’ You may have to suspend your disbelief, but it’s still a fun ride. Lowered expectations may help a little as well. It amazes me how some films get the pass, and others don’t, but all walks of life aren’t fair. While aimed at children this is still a film for th

Read More
TRANSFORMERS: AGE OF EXTINCTION Review

TRANSFORMERS: AGE OF EXTINCTION Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

As Hollywood runs out of ideas they started going back to the drawing board to create new material. It didn’t work necessarily with us being in the age of rehashing’s. Today in cinema we now have sequels, reboots, remakes, and reimagining’s of past greats. Now director Michael Bay is rebooting his own franchise while still keeping his first three films as live action canon. So technically Age of Extinction is a sequel and a reboot at the same time (doesn’t that sound si

Read More
BEGIN AGAIN Review

BEGIN AGAIN Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Sometimes after what life hands us we have to hit the reset button. While some may feel condemned from this, ‘Begin Again’ gives audiences an example of what someone needs rather than what they want. It’s a film with many layers and starts out like the planting of a seed. Not seeming like much, but slowly developing into a well-crafted piece of entertainment, blossoming into a beautiful flower. The performances are top notch with mostly all the characters being relatable.

Read More
THINK LIKE A MAN TOO Review

THINK LIKE A MAN TOO Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Director Tim Story’s track record is a little all over the place, but in this case he did deliver quality. There are some elements from the first film that are definitely missing from the second, and depending on what you’re looking for that may be a positive. It didn’t make much of a difference in my opinion because the story moves along with the next chapter in everyone’s life.  It leaves somewhat of a fresh take on the property than what usually turns out to be

Read More
JERSEY BOYS Review

JERSEY BOYS Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Clint Eastwood is considered a legendary icon, and he’s back in the director’s chair with another great hit that’s sure to entertain. Jersey Boys tells the true tale of four young men that didn’t always make the best decisions, but when they did formed the popular 1960’s rock group titled THE FOUR SEASONS. If you’re young like myself, you may not know the story, but probably can recognize some of the classic hits that graced our ears in the past decades. In

Read More
THE ROVER Review

THE ROVER Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

It can be a breath of fresh air at times to go in and experience a feature knowing very little about it other than its title. You have absolutely no expectations on the journey you’re about to embark on. That decision could also come back to haunt you, having no idea what you just witnessed. I’m still on the fence about what’s the better route to take, but leaning towards the former. There are so many factors that go into making a great film ranging from cast, plot, acting, a

Read More
22 JUMP STREET Review

22 JUMP STREET Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I really enjoyed 21 jump street. It took the average comedic genre with the traditional Hollywood formula and turned it right up on its head. It was a fresh take on an old franchise that breathed life into reboots, and showed promise for the future. While ‘21 JUMP STREET’ was great, ‘22 JUMP STREET` is far superior to the previous film across the board, and I couldn’t ask for more. It pays off when a film knows exactly what it is and takes advantage of that notion. The

Read More
HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON 2 Review

HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON 2 Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I had low expectations for the first film which most likely catered to my enjoyment. Going into the sequel with the same mindset probably helped as well, seeing that at some points I was smiling ear to ear. How to train your dragon 2 is another cute animation dished out by DreamWorks that definitely deserves your attention. It’s a lot of fun and opens you up to a new world of dragons you may not have witnessed before. There are a lot of new jokes that will serve the whole family and even

Read More
A HAUNTED HOUSE 2 Review

A HAUNTED HOUSE 2 Review

Posted 4 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

It will be a very long time before we witness spoof greats like the Naked Gun series or Airplane from the 80’s and 90’s. Back then studios took their time combining comedic greats into a mixed bag of over the top silliness, to warrant laughs of guilty pleasures. That’s no longer the case, where the market has been saturated with titles that are meant to be a mature style of stupidity, but turn into disastrous embarrassments that beg for the audience’s attention. A haunte

Read More
THE GRAND BUDAPEST HOTEL Review

THE GRAND BUDAPEST HOTEL Review

Posted 4 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Wes Anderson films are always fantastic, or at least I always here about how fantastic they are. As embarrassing as it is, I`ll admit this was the first Wes Anderson film I seen (and won`t be my last). Yes, yes, yes I know, I know, I heard he`s great. You  are probably frustrated and have stop reading by now, but if you’re still here you might be glad to hear I enjoyed the hell out of this flick. I cannot compare this to his previous films because I simply haven’t seen them. I

Read More
NEED FOR SPEED Review

NEED FOR SPEED Review

Posted 4 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

EA Sports it’s in the game!” That quote will always bring back pleasant memories for me back in the 90’s from games ranging across the board for PlayStation. For some titles I never dreamed it will be adapted for the big screen, but here we are. In my opinion, there really hasn’t been any video game adaptation, that has successfully crossed from a hand held controller to the big screen with critics raving and a lucrative box office. Though Need for Speed may be the next

Read More
THE SINGLE MOM'S CLUB Review

THE SINGLE MOM'S CLUB Review

Posted 4 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

By now you should know what type of film you’re walking into when Tyler Perry name is attached. Once the director of popular stage plays a little over a decade ago, he’s been ripping and running across movie screens with his simplistic narratives for a while now. That’s not necessarily a bad thing because everything doesn’t have to be so complex. Yet and still I still expect some form of quality when I do go to the theater. This isn’t a Tyler Perry bash session if

Read More
VERONICA MARS Review

VERONICA MARS Review

Posted 4 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Based off the popular TV series from a number of years ago and a successful kickstarter campaign, Veronica Mars finally hits the big screen. I didn’t know how I would feel about Ms. Mars since I’ve never watched a single episode of her in the past, or took to time to do any research of the material. Now I can honestly say after watching the film I care about her character and maybe interested in finding out a little bit more. I didn’t feel this way initially or during my driv

Read More
300: RISE OF AN EMPIRE Review

300: RISE OF AN EMPIRE Review

Posted 4 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I think everyone will agree that when the first 300 hit theaters back in 2007 it was a game changer. The effects were magnificent, the action was draw dropping, and it’s one of the most quotable movies in the last decade. Also be honest with yourself. How many people do you know that pretend they’re doing a front snap kick into someone’s chest screaming, “SPARTA!!!”? Most likely a lot, and I know I did, and still do today from time to time . I just can’t hel

Read More
MR. PEABODY & SHERMAN Review

MR. PEABODY & SHERMAN Review

Posted 4 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

For such a great movie I can’t believe I vaguely remember this cartoon from The Rocky and Bullwinkle show from my childhood. Though after the credits starting rolling, a few childhood memories were fresh on the brain. Dreamworks Animation did a great job as Peabody and Sherman is not only entertaining for both children and adults, but also educational from the time traveling adventure we embark on.   How do you gain the attention from the audience? Give them a great character

Read More
SON OF GOD Review

SON OF GOD Review

Posted 4 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

 It can be hard to review Son of God because in ways in not necessarily meant for the big screen when adapted from a TV miniseries. I also don’t feel It’s meant to entertain but more to educate the world and/or serve a purpose. It does serve a purpose and that is teaching the story of Jesus Christ (if you didn’t know it already) and his quest to spread the gospel. It does succeed in this task even though some elements can be jarring for some, but not me when it comes dow

Read More
REPENTANCE Review

REPENTANCE Review

Posted 4 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

If it wasn’t obvious to you already, one thing is for sure after watching Repentance, and that’s acknowledging the fact that Forest Whitaker has some serious acting chops! I was blown away again by his performance. He is a world class actor, and it’s always a pleasure witnessing his talent on the big screen. He’s convincing in every scene, and every role as he plays both sides of the coin of a desperate bipolar psychopath dead set on getting answers. It a shame the rest

Read More
NON-STOP Review

NON-STOP Review

Posted 4 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

It didn’t take much for me to get on board with this project. The trailer had me interested before it even finished. Place a new form of bad-ass named Liam Neeson on board a plane with weapons, tight hand to hand combat, and some form of hostage/terrorist take over and I’m sold. Non-stop is a mystery thriller that keeps you guessing and pins you to the edge of your seat. It contains top notch actors in supporting roles that can only compliment the whole picture. While some may say

Read More
POMPEII Review

POMPEII Review

Posted 4 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

This is the perfect example of knowing what you’re getting into beforehand. It can save the feeling of sadness if walking out the theatre disappointed. I knew exactly that while walking in, and it definitely helped. Director Paul W.S. Anderson took the helm with Pompeii and I got everything that I expected. He was behind popular titles like the original Mortal Kombat, Death Race, and a handful of the Resident Evil titles just to name a few. While some may look at this short list, burst o

Read More
3 DAYS TO KILL Review

3 DAYS TO KILL Review

Posted 4 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

It feels like in the past few weeks I’ve experienced a good number of films that have come across as a mixed bag. In some cases some may consider those guilty pleasures, but I never could relate to that term for its true definition. In this case it is a mix bag, that’s so bad that it can actually be considered good to some. While the main character (Kevin Costner) is great with everything he does, can pull off a decent amount of action, and play the stealth assassin while attempt

Read More
ENDLESS LOVE Review

ENDLESS LOVE Review

Posted 4 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Words cannot describe how little I was looking forward to this film. It felt like punishment when I set in my seat to view, but I didn’t want to be biased. For some reason I kept thinking the love story would be as corny as a twilight novel but boy was I wrong. What works here is the age of the characters that have just graduated high school. While the film was actually pretty decent I felt it was miscast by our main lead David Elliot (Alex Pettyfer). In my opinion he’s a fine acto

Read More
WINTER'S TALE Review

WINTER'S TALE Review

Posted 4 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Love stories aren’t might favorite genre but if done correctly anyone I can appreciate them. After viewing this film the trailers and marketing led me astray to a world I didn’t know I was walking into. That can be magnificent if it’s for the better but of course not the worst. The viewer has to be the judge of that and in my opinion this time around it’s for the worst. Though every aspect of this film wasn’t bad, actually some were quite good. I thought the perfo

Read More
VAMPIRE ACADEMY Review

VAMPIRE ACADEMY Review

Posted 4 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Really? Why do they keep making these movies? Who is in charge? These are not rhetorical questions. Even with my expectations being so low I still wonder why I’m disappointed. If you’re reading, I’m curious to know how you felt about the Twilight franchise. I’m indifferent about all those titles and when Vampire Academy comes into question most will try to compare the two. Let me save you the headache and just say that the twilight films are far superior to Vampire Acad

Read More
ROBOCOP Review

ROBOCOP Review

Posted 4 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

It definitely raises the question of drawing the line between man and machine. It has deep moral issues that some may be able to argue for days. When it was announced that a reboot would hit the big screen I was just as concerned as everyone else, in fear this wouldn’t come close to the original. It sure does come close but a comparison wouldn’t be fair in my opinion due to the limitations possibly set by the studio to gain more profit. Hence this version of Robocop is PG-13 while

Read More
ABOUT LAST NIGHT Review

ABOUT LAST NIGHT Review

Posted 4 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Dating/relationship movies can be a ton of fun because they are relatable. Everyone dates and there’s no getting around that statement. Everyone doesn’t have super powers, fight in wars, or are the next action hero, so a dating film is something everyone can appreciate. While the first 10 seconds of the film started out great with guy locker room talk about the previous night. The following seconds after turned into a crash and burn into a cage of meat hungry gorillas. I’m st

Read More
MONUMENTS MEN Review

MONUMENTS MEN Review

Posted 4 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

 Considered one of the greatest treasure hunts in history, George Clooney is at the helm as director to tell the tale of 7 brave souls saving precious artifacts from destruction during World War II. It’s a noble cause that some, but not all can appreciate. What should one do when 1,000 years of culture is on the brink of extinction? Is it worth saving? Is it worth one man’s life? I say if a plausible plan is put in place yes. These are the questions asked in this loosely based

Read More
THAT AKWARD MOMENT Review

THAT AKWARD MOMENT Review

Posted 4 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

‘THAT AWKWARD MOMENT’ I thought this would be a lot of fun when I first saw the trailer. You’ll have to find out later if I still felt that way after I walked out the theater. I considered it to be a male centered romantic comedy that would possibly shed light on male bachelorhood. It did in a sense, but on the other hand I thought a few of its beats were unrealistic, especially regarding the dating world. I was able to relate to all the characters except for one, but I can&r

Read More
THE LEGO MOVIE Review

THE LEGO MOVIE Review

Posted 4 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

In it’s duration there’s a catchy and extremely addictive song titled, “Everything is Awesome!” If you sung that song about the entire film you wouldn’t be wrong. Absolutely everything is awesome about The Lego Movie and even if I tried I couldn’t find one complaint. I honestly can’t remember the last time I had this much fun at the theater. The soundtrack is fantastic and I can’t wait to have a copy of my own. The story while being a Lego movie,

Read More
FROZEN Review

FROZEN Review

Posted 4 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Once upon a time some would say animations where mostly targeted towards children. Adults would have to take a deep breath, dragging their feet to the theater to painfully sit through the next feature. With the exception to some of the greats Disney released like Lion King, Beauty and the Beast, and a few others, it seemed like the magic was fading away year by year. Then Pixar hit the big screen, raising the bar to a completely new level of entertainment for both adults and children. I’

Read More
ANCHORMAN 2: THE LEGEND CONTINUES Review

ANCHORMAN 2: THE LEGEND CONTINUES Review

Posted 4 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

 For the most part, every time I walk into a theater it’s not to judge the film based off my expectations. I go in as a film fan, wanting to clock out for a while and be entertained. In the year 2004, Director Adam McKay graced us with a surprise hit that we’ll all be quoting for quite some time. For years the masses were asking for a sequel. We all wanting to know when we could tune in for another episode of the legendary channel 4 news team. I wanted to know the next time I

Read More
LAST VEGAS Review

LAST VEGAS Review

Posted 4 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Think about this. If you take 4 men pushing 70 years of age, place them in Las Vegas with loads of cash, with no worries in the world, would it be a fun time? Would it be something to remember? Could they go back home bragging that they had the best time in their lives? Most likely, the chances are absolutely not! Though that’s not the case with these four. They’re kicking back, popping bottle (yes singular), and living it up like it’s 1959. Director Jon Turteltaub put togeth

Read More
CAPTAIN PHILLIPS Review

CAPTAIN PHILLIPS Review

Posted 4 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Pirates! When you hear that word the first thing that comes to mind is Captain Hook, recent Disney movies, or horribly dressed individuals with layers of personal problems. The fact that their actually real could be a hard pill to swallow, and that`s exactly where the story lies.    To me one of the hardest things in film to accomplish is combining humor in a serious setting. I never thought I would be laughing as hard as I was when American citizens are being held hostage

Read More
LABOR DAY Review

LABOR DAY Review

Posted 4 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

It’s amazing sometimes how your world can be flipped upside down in such a short amount of time. Especially in the matter of a few days, and in this case Labor Day weekend. One can find true love, the motivation to live again, or the realization of who you really are inside. Can you imagine what events would have to go down for you literally to drop everything you have going on in life? Leaving everyone and everything you love behind to start over. I’m not saying that’s exact

Read More
THE BEST MAN HOLIDAY Review

THE BEST MAN HOLIDAY Review

Posted 4 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

After 15 years the whole gang is back, and it’s exciting to see how they’ve grown. On the outside all seems fine, but a secret or two may eventually erupt. When I initially heard of the sequel my face frowned asking, what’s the reason, other than a possible money grab from the studio. I thought, there’s no story to tell, it can’t top or even come close to first, and/or what is the motivation? Other than a few good laughs and some heartwarming moments there isn&rsqu

Read More
JACKASS PRESENTS: BAD GRANDPA Review

JACKASS PRESENTS: BAD GRANDPA Review

Posted 4 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

 BAD GRANDPA` If I remove the grandpa you`ll have my rating. Instantly I felt something was missing. I didn`t want to compare to previous Jackass films since the whole cast isn`t present, but they were surely missed. In society when little kids or our elders get into mischief you may get a little frustrated but not irate. You tell yourselves to be patient because the children may not no any better. You`re calm with elders because they may not be able to help themselves, or you realize you

Read More
DELIVERY MAN Review

DELIVERY MAN Review

Posted 4 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

What do you do when you find out you’re the father of 533 children? If you answer is cry until your eyes fall out, dance in the middle of the busiest highway blindfolded, or drink a gallon of bleach, I wouldn’t blame you. David Wozniak choose neither, so he has my respect. Though he is the text book definition of an underachiever. Only doing what’s necessary to get by in life pissing it all away. He can’t even deliver dry cleaning in a timely manner, let alone be a fath

Read More
ENDER'S GAME Review

ENDER'S GAME Review

Posted 4 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

 Wow! I can admit, when the first few trailers hit for this flick I had ABSOLUTELY ZERO interest in seeing this film. I thought it would be a CGI crapfest, with bad acting from children, wasted talent (Harrison Ford, Viola Davis, Sir Ben Kingsley), and an embarrassment to great cinema. Then on top of that, I found out director Gavin Hood was attached who delivered the disappointing X-Men Origins: Wolverine movie. So no hope could be found. I am soooooo proud to say that I was completely w

Read More
THE GRACE CARD Review

THE GRACE CARD Review

Posted 4 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

 It’s extremely difficult to move on from the past, and forgive those cause you pain, grief, and despair.  It’s even harder when those wounds affect not only you, but your loved ones around you, creating a family of heartache and pain. That’s the story here, of man’s fight with himself, his family and the world that surrounds him. Trapped by mistaken guilt of everyday life, he constantly eats away at his own soul. It’s a powerful message despite it&

Read More

Please Like on Facebook