SEARCH GO
TED 2 Review

TED 2 Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

It really takes some imagination to tell a story about a talking teddy bear that breathes life. It takes even more brain power to make him a bear you actually care about. After a homerun with the prequel, and a disaster bomb with ‘A Million Ways to Die in the West’, director Seth McFarlane rolled the dice once more. What he did with Ted 2 is appreciated, but doesn’t contain the same shock value the first attempt had. Just think about what was presented. Popular Family Guy cre

Read More
MAX Review

MAX Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

All my life I’ve heard that dogs are a man’s best friend. I wouldn’t know firsthand, but going by all that the media outlets say, the phrase does seem to hold some truth. MAX is a great example of this sentiment and takes it much further. Overall, not only is MAX a heartwarming story, but it also shows you how beneficial K-9’s can be in domestic environments and in foreign lands, lending their assistance. It shows that they have intelligence and feelings, just like you

Read More
DOPE Review

DOPE Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Back in 99, Rick Famuyiwa’s ‘The Wood’ surprised many, becoming a cult classic that most African American communities flocked to. Now he’s back again behind the camera with another gem that turns first impressions on their head. DOPE delivers on levels I didn’t know existed. It’s a wakeup call to all assumptions of youth and their potential future. It follows a geek named Malcolm (Shameik Moore) in his last days of high school aspiring f

Read More
TOMORROWLAND Review

TOMORROWLAND Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

What would life be like if we could see tomorrow? Would you really want to know – or does the never-ending mystery motivate you to get out of bed each morning? An even more interesting question is: what would happen if all the world’s greatest minds came together in one place? How interesting would that tomorrow be? Disney promises to answer these questions, but never does, which is sad. The answers provided don’t remotely pay off, as the marketing and trailers suggest.

Read More
PITCH PERFECT 2 Review

PITCH PERFECT 2 Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

In 2012, director Jason Moore surprised the world with the beautiful voices of the Barden Bellas. Pitch Perfect was, in my opinion, a cinematic masterpiece crafted with a great plot, characters, and musical numbers that made me sing and dance in my living room along with the collegiate superheroes. The movie came out of nowhere, and with positive word of mouth, gained enough of a following to warrant a well-deserved sequel. This time around, Mr. Moore didn’t return t

Read More
MAD MAX: FURY ROAD Review

MAD MAX: FURY ROAD Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

With Action / Adventure being one of my favorite genres, it’s not too often I can start off a review by saying my mind was blown. That statement is true to say the least, because this flick is truly insane. It’s been about 30 years since the last release of a Mad Max film, and Fury Road is the fourth entry from director George Miller. Please take note of this artist, because he has created an epic that other directors could only dream of. Mad Max: Fury Road is a

Read More
AVENGERS: AGE OF ULTRON Review

AVENGERS: AGE OF ULTRON Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

After years of waiting for a worthy follow-up to the successful 2012 juggernaut, The Avengers, Avengers: Age of Ultron is finally here. Fans from around the world, including myself, have been salivating to see the next evil foe face Earth’s Mightiest Heroes.   The million dollar question is, does it hold up to the first film? The first had a flaw or two but still was a dream come true. So anticipation was even greater the second time around.   Wh

Read More
FURIOUS 7 Review

FURIOUS 7 Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I must give major credit to Universal, the cast, and everyone involved in the Fast and Furious franchise. It’s not too often that a studio can make the seventh installment in a series still relevant and interesting. After The Fast and the Furious: Tokyo Drift (part 3), these films got bigger and better, and for a while, started becoming one of my most anticipated top 20 in each year of their release. The most notable aspect is that while the studios’ main goal is financial success,

Read More
HOME Review

HOME Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Having a place to call home is a great feeling, especially if you have someone to share it with. In this case, that home expands across the far reaches of space. Two worlds colliding creating something heartfelt and beautiful. This thought is amazing, and could lead to happy storytelling as well. Not in this story, though. You could say that about a character or two, with them being the life support that kept ‘Home’ afloat. Besides, the story is easily forgettable, and does not hav

Read More
INSURGENT Review

INSURGENT Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

In most conversations about book adaptations, one of the more popular opinions is that the book is always better than the movie. I agree on the point that the soul that’s turning the page adds his or her own imagination to field the mind. These ideas, taken and pieced together by someone else could produce a visual masterpiece befitting the story, or it could be a complete letdown because it doesn’t serve your vision. I think that the team behind Insurgent has a

Read More
CINDERELLA Review

CINDERELLA Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

So Disney has decided to go far back into the past and adapt their popular animated classics into live action features. Alice in Wonderland had mixed reviews, Maleficent was not critically acclaimed, but it seems Disney has found its footing with its latest feature, Cinderella. That goes to show the hard work put into the script, as well as that of the titular character played by Lily James, who owns the role entirely. She was born to play this character and it shows. Cinde

Read More
ENTOURAGE Review

ENTOURAGE Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Some say the Entourage series is like the male version of Sex and the City. I’m not a fan of either show; but both appear to have much in common from the outside looking in. With the luxurious lifestyle of New Yorkers being a hit, Los Angeles living seemed like a safe bet for what’s to come next. The world that some dream about through billboards, runways, TV shows, and magazines was made almost tangible through the young men of Entourage. With all the promotions and praise, it sti

Read More
POLTERGEIST Review

POLTERGEIST Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

While many loathed the idea of a Poltergeist remake, some greeted the news with cheers. The ones cheering most likely are from the younger demographic, and after watching the film, I believe that’s definitely the film’s target audience. Not having seen the original, I can’t compare the two, but I am now very curious about how this title received its classic horror movie status back in 1982. This status raises so many questions as to how the original caused so many nightmares,

Read More
HOT PURSUIT Review

HOT PURSUIT Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

You do not want to see your favorite actress play a serious significant role all the time. From time to time, you may want something a little different and outside the box. I’m very fond of my serious dramatic stories, and more in love with my goofy comedies. Reese Witherspoon isn’t my favorite actress by far, but she definitely has my respect and attention when she’s the protagonist in a film. I would defend her last six films proudly, and would say that her role was marvelo

Read More
GET HARD Review

GET HARD Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Kevin Hart has been on the scene for over a decade now. He started small like everyone else, and progressed from a stand-up comedian to mainstream movies. Will Ferrell has been around for even longer, and it seems like he never hits a bad note on the big screen or in classic episodes of SNL. Though honestly, Kevin Hart’s latest films have been either hits or misses. It seems like he only plays the same character (himself), which became quite tiresome. I have started to only look forward

Read More
WOMAN IN GOLD Review

WOMAN IN GOLD Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Films based on true stories can either be informative or entertaining. It’s a delight when they accomplish both. While the majority may swing towards the latter, a true story really hits its mark if the audience can empathize with the characters, or realistically sympathize with them. This can be done in hundreds of ways, and mostly comes down to the filmmaker. How does the team behind the camera tell you a story with so many tools to choose from? This is the obvious

Read More
THE WATER DIVINER Review

THE WATER DIVINER Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Once a memory is created it’s considered a true story, and there are an infinite number of stories throughout the ages. Some may be more interesting and grander than others, but each holds its own place in history. What makes one true event more relevant than others? There isn’t a scalable answer to that question, and it depends on the story teller. The Water Diviner tells a true story, or one that’s based on historical events. With that event being World

Read More
WHILE WE'RE YOUNG Review

WHILE WE'RE YOUNG Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Ben Stiller maintains a healthy balance bouncing back and forth between comedies, dramas, and a marriage between the two. It’s difficult to determine which genre he’s more successful in, depending on personal preference or the goals set by the studio or himself. While all of his films may not be commercial or financial juggernauts, they still entertain me, to say the least. With Mr. Stiller being the lead character in While We’re Young, I did enjoy his performance and section

Read More
THE LAZARUS EFFECT Review

THE LAZARUS EFFECT Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Everyone has asked the question, “What if you could bring someone back from the dead?” It’s a fascinating concept, but one of the scariest ideas around. If it were possible, would you really want to go down that road? Where would you draw the line? What type of world would we live in today if we could resurrect the deceased? Losing a loved one can be one of the most disastrous terrors one can imagine. Despite this, I personally don’t think resurrecti

Read More
THE GUNMAN Review

THE GUNMAN Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

With such a short track record, I can at least say director Pierre Morel can put together an entertaining film. He’s directed films like the first Taken, Transporters 1 and 2, and the reboot From Paris with Love, which is actually a surprise. I must say, these films have an element that The Gunman lacks. That missing piece is the main character you actually care about. Sure, it has a decent knife fight choreography, obstacles that have to be overcome mentally, and blazing guns, but at ti

Read More
RUN ALL NIGHT Review

RUN ALL NIGHT Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

What seemed to be just another Liam Neeson film actually turned out to be much more. I think this guy can keep doing his thing forever, and I’m all for it. I didn’t pay attention to the director (Jaume Collet-Serra) until the credits rolled, and then I realized why the film is so surprisingly good. He’s directed a number of great films, and half of them star Mr. Neeson. I admit Liam Neeson seems to often play the same role, but in the end that doesn’

Read More
CHAPPIE Review

CHAPPIE Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Director Neil Blomkamp surprised the world with his science fiction tale District 9, but did the exact opposite by following up with Elysium (which I happened to love). So he was 50-50 coming into Chappie. The premise seemed like it had a familiar flavor. The story seemed relevant, depicting mankind’s race toward the advancement of artificial intelligence. It appeared to be a visual gem that most couldn’t wait to add to their Blu-ray/DVD collection. Did it live up to all the high e

Read More
SEVENTH SON Review

SEVENTH SON Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Have you ever heard of this movie before? I hadn’t until the TV spots graced my screen. Action, adventure, fantasy, witches, goblins, and ghouls all balled up into one to make a cinematic experience. The trailers didn’t suggest a movie with a large budget, but who cares? Sometimes, as an audience member, you just want to be sucked into a world that you have never seen before and appreciate everything it has to offer. Seventh Son has a lot to offer, but gives you

Read More
THE PURGE: ANARCHY Review

THE PURGE: ANARCHY Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

The Purge: Anarchy is an interesting piece that accomplished what the first film didn’t. It was an extremely clever idea that raised a few questions on what the possible future could entail. It was the rebirth of a nation that some agreed with, and others were repulsed with. Majority would hope that the premise would never come to fruition in the real world, but it peaked the interest of the masses on a new twisted take on life. Unfortunately, this great idea was packed down to a home in

Read More
DAWN OF THE PLANET OF THE APES Review

DAWN OF THE PLANET OF THE APES Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I can admit after seeing Rise of The Planet of The Apes I was a little disappointed that director Rupert Wyatt wasn’t coming back for the sequel. It’s not always a guarantee that directors returning will guarantee a hit, but it’s nice to imagine the chemistry created develops a cohesiveness with the cast and crew that feels like a warm family gathering during the holidays. Though at times a fresh artist can pick up where the last great one left off, and deliver something grou

Read More
TAMMY Review

TAMMY Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

While no one had any high expectations, I think it’s safe to say that Melissa McCarthy’s character in Bridesmaids surprised everyone. She hit the screen strong and fierce in a role that was funny, clever, and very unpredictable. She’s very talented with all the charisma in the world, and possibly will have an even stronger acting career in the future, if not already. I may only feel that way depending on whether she creates the characters herself, or leaves that job to someon

Read More
DELIVER US FROM EVIL Review

DELIVER US FROM EVIL Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Today when a film states it’s based on a true story you have to read between the lines. Besides the filmmakers themselves, one can’t be too sure on how true the story being told really is. One needs to actually pay attention to the wording that’s presented and go from there. There are so many variations, and in this case it states ‘Inspired by the actual accounts of an NYPD Sergeant.` That may be the case but where do you draw the line? Part of the marketing suggests th

Read More
EARTH TO ECHO Review

EARTH TO ECHO Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I love it when a film is self-aware, knowing its target audience. For that this one receives high merits. Even if you aren’t in the target range there’s still much to enjoy with ‘Earth to Echo.’ You may have to suspend your disbelief, but it’s still a fun ride. Lowered expectations may help a little as well. It amazes me how some films get the pass, and others don’t, but all walks of life aren’t fair. While aimed at children this is still a film for th

Read More
TRANSFORMERS: AGE OF EXTINCTION Review

TRANSFORMERS: AGE OF EXTINCTION Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

As Hollywood runs out of ideas they started going back to the drawing board to create new material. It didn’t work necessarily with us being in the age of rehashing’s. Today in cinema we now have sequels, reboots, remakes, and reimagining’s of past greats. Now director Michael Bay is rebooting his own franchise while still keeping his first three films as live action canon. So technically Age of Extinction is a sequel and a reboot at the same time (doesn’t that sound si

Read More
BEGIN AGAIN Review

BEGIN AGAIN Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Sometimes after what life hands us we have to hit the reset button. While some may feel condemned from this, ‘Begin Again’ gives audiences an example of what someone needs rather than what they want. It’s a film with many layers and starts out like the planting of a seed. Not seeming like much, but slowly developing into a well-crafted piece of entertainment, blossoming into a beautiful flower. The performances are top notch with mostly all the characters being relatable.

Read More
THINK LIKE A MAN TOO Review

THINK LIKE A MAN TOO Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Director Tim Story’s track record is a little all over the place, but in this case he did deliver quality. There are some elements from the first film that are definitely missing from the second, and depending on what you’re looking for that may be a positive. It didn’t make much of a difference in my opinion because the story moves along with the next chapter in everyone’s life.  It leaves somewhat of a fresh take on the property than what usually turns out to be

Read More
JERSEY BOYS Review

JERSEY BOYS Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Clint Eastwood is considered a legendary icon, and he’s back in the director’s chair with another great hit that’s sure to entertain. Jersey Boys tells the true tale of four young men that didn’t always make the best decisions, but when they did formed the popular 1960’s rock group titled THE FOUR SEASONS. If you’re young like myself, you may not know the story, but probably can recognize some of the classic hits that graced our ears in the past decades. In

Read More
THE ROVER Review

THE ROVER Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

It can be a breath of fresh air at times to go in and experience a feature knowing very little about it other than its title. You have absolutely no expectations on the journey you’re about to embark on. That decision could also come back to haunt you, having no idea what you just witnessed. I’m still on the fence about what’s the better route to take, but leaning towards the former. There are so many factors that go into making a great film ranging from cast, plot, acting, a

Read More
22 JUMP STREET Review

22 JUMP STREET Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I really enjoyed 21 jump street. It took the average comedic genre with the traditional Hollywood formula and turned it right up on its head. It was a fresh take on an old franchise that breathed life into reboots, and showed promise for the future. While ‘21 JUMP STREET’ was great, ‘22 JUMP STREET` is far superior to the previous film across the board, and I couldn’t ask for more. It pays off when a film knows exactly what it is and takes advantage of that notion. The

Read More
HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON 2 Review

HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON 2 Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I had low expectations for the first film which most likely catered to my enjoyment. Going into the sequel with the same mindset probably helped as well, seeing that at some points I was smiling ear to ear. How to train your dragon 2 is another cute animation dished out by DreamWorks that definitely deserves your attention. It’s a lot of fun and opens you up to a new world of dragons you may not have witnessed before. There are a lot of new jokes that will serve the whole family and even

Read More
A HAUNTED HOUSE 2 Review

A HAUNTED HOUSE 2 Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

It will be a very long time before we witness spoof greats like the Naked Gun series or Airplane from the 80’s and 90’s. Back then studios took their time combining comedic greats into a mixed bag of over the top silliness, to warrant laughs of guilty pleasures. That’s no longer the case, where the market has been saturated with titles that are meant to be a mature style of stupidity, but turn into disastrous embarrassments that beg for the audience’s attention. A haunte

Read More
THE GRAND BUDAPEST HOTEL Review

THE GRAND BUDAPEST HOTEL Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Wes Anderson films are always fantastic, or at least I always here about how fantastic they are. As embarrassing as it is, I`ll admit this was the first Wes Anderson film I seen (and won`t be my last). Yes, yes, yes I know, I know, I heard he`s great. You  are probably frustrated and have stop reading by now, but if you’re still here you might be glad to hear I enjoyed the hell out of this flick. I cannot compare this to his previous films because I simply haven’t seen them. I

Read More
NEED FOR SPEED Review

NEED FOR SPEED Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

EA Sports it’s in the game!” That quote will always bring back pleasant memories for me back in the 90’s from games ranging across the board for PlayStation. For some titles I never dreamed it will be adapted for the big screen, but here we are. In my opinion, there really hasn’t been any video game adaptation, that has successfully crossed from a hand held controller to the big screen with critics raving and a lucrative box office. Though Need for Speed may be the next

Read More
THE SINGLE MOM'S CLUB Review

THE SINGLE MOM'S CLUB Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

By now you should know what type of film you’re walking into when Tyler Perry name is attached. Once the director of popular stage plays a little over a decade ago, he’s been ripping and running across movie screens with his simplistic narratives for a while now. That’s not necessarily a bad thing because everything doesn’t have to be so complex. Yet and still I still expect some form of quality when I do go to the theater. This isn’t a Tyler Perry bash session if

Read More
VERONICA MARS Review

VERONICA MARS Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Based off the popular TV series from a number of years ago and a successful kickstarter campaign, Veronica Mars finally hits the big screen. I didn’t know how I would feel about Ms. Mars since I’ve never watched a single episode of her in the past, or took to time to do any research of the material. Now I can honestly say after watching the film I care about her character and maybe interested in finding out a little bit more. I didn’t feel this way initially or during my driv

Read More
300: RISE OF AN EMPIRE Review

300: RISE OF AN EMPIRE Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I think everyone will agree that when the first 300 hit theaters back in 2007 it was a game changer. The effects were magnificent, the action was draw dropping, and it’s one of the most quotable movies in the last decade. Also be honest with yourself. How many people do you know that pretend they’re doing a front snap kick into someone’s chest screaming, “SPARTA!!!”? Most likely a lot, and I know I did, and still do today from time to time . I just can’t hel

Read More
MR. PEABODY & SHERMAN Review

MR. PEABODY & SHERMAN Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

For such a great movie I can’t believe I vaguely remember this cartoon from The Rocky and Bullwinkle show from my childhood. Though after the credits starting rolling, a few childhood memories were fresh on the brain. Dreamworks Animation did a great job as Peabody and Sherman is not only entertaining for both children and adults, but also educational from the time traveling adventure we embark on.   How do you gain the attention from the audience? Give them a great character

Read More
SON OF GOD Review

SON OF GOD Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

 It can be hard to review Son of God because in ways in not necessarily meant for the big screen when adapted from a TV miniseries. I also don’t feel It’s meant to entertain but more to educate the world and/or serve a purpose. It does serve a purpose and that is teaching the story of Jesus Christ (if you didn’t know it already) and his quest to spread the gospel. It does succeed in this task even though some elements can be jarring for some, but not me when it comes dow

Read More
REPENTANCE Review

REPENTANCE Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

If it wasn’t obvious to you already, one thing is for sure after watching Repentance, and that’s acknowledging the fact that Forest Whitaker has some serious acting chops! I was blown away again by his performance. He is a world class actor, and it’s always a pleasure witnessing his talent on the big screen. He’s convincing in every scene, and every role as he plays both sides of the coin of a desperate bipolar psychopath dead set on getting answers. It a shame the rest

Read More

Please Like on Facebook