SEARCH GO
HITMAN: AGENT 47 Review

HITMAN: AGENT 47 Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

In today’s society video games are becoming more and more prevalent each day. If not already, one might seem abnormal if they don’t have the latest console hooked up somewhere in their home. It’s a fun way to escape from the world, but what’s even more fascinating is adapting said property to the big screen. Since the inception of Mario Brothers, video games adaptations have been a terrible waste of money and talent. I’m not sure why, but other than ‘Street

Read More
AMERICAN ULTRA Review

AMERICAN ULTRA Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I get really tired of seeing the same premise on the big screen, so it’s nice to stir the pot every once in a while. It really doesn’t matter what genres you decide to blend as long as the story is compelling and the characters are strong. So when the marketing machine for ‘American Ultra’ started labeling it a marriage between the Bourne franchise and ‘Pineapple Express’ I was intrigued but skeptical. It was a neat idea and had potential to be a cult classi

Read More
STRAIGHT OUTTA COMPTON Review

STRAIGHT OUTTA COMPTON Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

“You are now about to witness the strength of street knowledge.” Just as the legendary album Straight Outta Compton hit hard in its introduction back in 1988, director F. Gary Gray (Friday, Set it Off, The Negotiator, The Italian Job) chose the same lyric for his 2015 film adaptation. Those eleven words are just as powerful now as they ever were, and Mr. Gray made sure the audience knew. Straight Outta Compton is not just another hip hop movie. It’s the true biographical tell

Read More
THE MAN FROM U.N.C.L.E. Review

THE MAN FROM U.N.C.L.E. Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Based off the television series from the 1960’s, director Guy Ritchie (Revolver, Sherlock Holmes) took a chance at adapting ‘The Man from U.N.C.L.E.’ for the big screen today. The show was before my time, so there were no expectations to be met. If the television show was as great as the film, it’s a shame it only lasted four seasons. While having no interest initially, leaving the theater I was overjoyed, loving the film.  With his unique style, Guy Ritchie delive

Read More
FANTASTIC FOUR Review

FANTASTIC FOUR Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I give high respect for those who make an attempt, but fall down only to get back up to try again. It’s honorable, and Twentieth Century Fox did just that. After three failed attempts of anything worthy, Fantastic Four has been rebooted again, and it’s mind boggling how this great story of heroes continues to be driven into the ground. There’s nothing fantastic about it. The tone is bland, the story dry, and there’s no action that takes place. We don’t see the cha

Read More
MISSION IMPOSSIBLE: ROGUE NATION Review

MISSION IMPOSSIBLE: ROGUE NATION Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

It is not too many franchises that make it to the fifth installment. Especially when each telling is as good as the last. Not all film franchises have achieved this (*cough* Transformers *cough*). I usually like for a director to stick around for sequels, but with Mission Impossible, the studio has done the exact opposite. It seems to work, so if it isn’t broke, don’t fix it. This time around, director Christopher McQuarrie has taken charge and delivered another entertaining chapte

Read More
VACATION Review

VACATION Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Even if I tried, I couldn’t tell you which of the original National Lapoon’s Vacation series is my favorite. They each have something unique and special about them. So that’s probably why Warner Brothers decided to make a remake of these classics. When I heard about this, I was skeptical, but optimistic. Especially when I found out who the cast was, and how in a way it’s a sequel to the previous chapters. What’s done well can’t always be

Read More
PIXELS Review

PIXELS Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

The thought of aliens invading planet Earth through classic arcade video games sounds thrilling. Half of those games involve outer space in the first place, so the concept piqued my interest. If you think about it, how cool would it be to see a giant Pac-Man sprinting through town destroying everything in its path? As long as it isn’t my town, the idea sounds amazing. On the flip side, this could be a disaster, and a strong one if successful. Of course, it all comes down to the way the s

Read More
SOUTHPAW Review

SOUTHPAW Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

With director Antoine Fuqua behind the camera I knew little of what to expect. While Training Day was a cinematic masterpiece, The Equalizer, and Olympus Has Fallen was not. Other than the trailers revealing a crucial plot point, I was still excited for what’s to come. You have a director I respect, teaming up with actors I adore (Jake Gyllenhaal and Forest Whitaker), so it all seemed like a worthy recipe I was dying to dig into. Of course there are times in films when your expectations

Read More
PAPER TOWNS Review

PAPER TOWNS Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Depending on who you are, there can be a great number of things to appreciate about Paper Towns. It’s a fascinating movie about the power of friendship, adventure, and wonder. It’s about believing in yourself and taking that leap forward with no regrets. Everyone is familiar with this notion in some sense which makes the film that much more relatable. It’s funny, caring, and filled with love, that may force you to reminisce on all your past trials and challenges. It made me r

Read More
TRAINWRECK Review

TRAINWRECK Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

There’s much to be said about Trainwreck. It’s bold, clever, and saying it’s funny is an understatement. It’s hilariously laugh-out-loud funny. The kind that may make your stomach hurt. I was worried for a second that director Judd Apatow had lost his magic. I loved Knocked Up, and 40 Year Old Virgin, but Funny People and This is 40 didn’t work for me. So, not being a fan of Amy Schumer, and dismissing Apatow’s last two films, I was on the fence.

Read More
DARK PLACES Review

DARK PLACES Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

One thing Dark Places got right is the title. Depending on who you ask it’s probably one of the best parts of the film. It fits perfect like a glove. Sometimes life can be hard, and knock you on your ass. The only thing that matters is what you do after that. Do you bend over, or stand up stronger? Everyone has a story to tell, and those life events can sometimes leave you in dark places. All stories don’t end with a happy ending, but they at least end with something you can take w

Read More
ANT-MAN Review

ANT-MAN Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Lately, on online portals, there’s been mention of theaters being saturated by comic book adaptations; that studios continue to spoon-feed us the same bland original story of a superhero by only changing the shooting location and providing a different angle of actions. Fans finally thought they would get an auteur behind the camera with Edgar Wright, but negotiations fell through at Marvel due to creative differences. That was a horrible day for movie fans. Their desire to witness unique

Read More
SELF/LESS Review

SELF/LESS Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Technological advances in science are always on the horizon. It’s mind boggling; what was impossible twenty years ago versus what science can accomplish today. Self/Less is an example of this phenomenon, featuring Ryan Reynolds front and center.  Yet again, he’s a chameleon on screen, soaking up nearly any role he’s cast in. He’s a great talent, but doesn’t get the recognition he deserves. The title of the film has significant meaning to

Read More
MINIONS Review

MINIONS Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

What started out as cute little creatures from Despicable Me have grown into a worldwide phenomenon. These little yellow devils called the Minions are the definition of adorable, and are filled with peace and love. It may be considered a no-brainer to give the little monsters their own franchise—you can’t blame those who greenlighted that decision. The most important question you have to ask is, can this bunch of characters stand on their own? In the past, they had supporting roles

Read More
THE GALLOWS Review

THE GALLOWS Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I like to give credit where it’s due. Blumhouse Productions takes scary concepts, makes them into movies within a budget, and then puts it out for the masses. With the lack of films made in the horror genre, they’re taking full advantage of that empty slot. So they’re smart for doing that, to say the least. Unfortunately, the quality of the film is as low as the amount of money they have invested in it. The Gallows is a failure all around. There is nearly

Read More
TERMINATOR GENISYS Review

TERMINATOR GENISYS Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

It’s hard to believe the first Terminator film hit theaters 31 years ago. It’s a classic that still holds up today blowing everything else in the same genre out of the water. So can that same substance be found today? If you’re looking for it in Terminator Genisys you won’t come remotely close to finding it. You may find a few entertaining elements, but overall it’s a migraine headache of stupidity and lack of reason. We’ve had 31 years and 5 films of eviden

Read More
TED 2 Review

TED 2 Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

It really takes some imagination to tell a story about a talking teddy bear that breathes life. It takes even more brain power to make him a bear you actually care about. After a homerun with the prequel, and a disaster bomb with ‘A Million Ways to Die in the West’, director Seth McFarlane rolled the dice once more. What he did with Ted 2 is appreciated, but doesn’t contain the same shock value the first attempt had. Just think about what was presented. Popular Family Guy cre

Read More
MAX Review

MAX Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

All my life I’ve heard that dogs are a man’s best friend. I wouldn’t know firsthand, but going by all that the media outlets say, the phrase does seem to hold some truth. MAX is a great example of this sentiment and takes it much further. Overall, not only is MAX a heartwarming story, but it also shows you how beneficial K-9’s can be in domestic environments and in foreign lands, lending their assistance. It shows that they have intelligence and feelings, just like you

Read More
DOPE Review

DOPE Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Back in 99, Rick Famuyiwa’s ‘The Wood’ surprised many, becoming a cult classic that most African American communities flocked to. Now he’s back again behind the camera with another gem that turns first impressions on their head. DOPE delivers on levels I didn’t know existed. It’s a wakeup call to all assumptions of youth and their potential future. It follows a geek named Malcolm (Shameik Moore) in his last days of high school aspiring f

Read More
TOMORROWLAND Review

TOMORROWLAND Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

What would life be like if we could see tomorrow? Would you really want to know – or does the never-ending mystery motivate you to get out of bed each morning? An even more interesting question is: what would happen if all the world’s greatest minds came together in one place? How interesting would that tomorrow be? Disney promises to answer these questions, but never does, which is sad. The answers provided don’t remotely pay off, as the marketing and trailers suggest.

Read More
PITCH PERFECT 2 Review

PITCH PERFECT 2 Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

In 2012, director Jason Moore surprised the world with the beautiful voices of the Barden Bellas. Pitch Perfect was, in my opinion, a cinematic masterpiece crafted with a great plot, characters, and musical numbers that made me sing and dance in my living room along with the collegiate superheroes. The movie came out of nowhere, and with positive word of mouth, gained enough of a following to warrant a well-deserved sequel. This time around, Mr. Moore didn’t return t

Read More
MAD MAX: FURY ROAD Review

MAD MAX: FURY ROAD Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

With Action / Adventure being one of my favorite genres, it’s not too often I can start off a review by saying my mind was blown. That statement is true to say the least, because this flick is truly insane. It’s been about 30 years since the last release of a Mad Max film, and Fury Road is the fourth entry from director George Miller. Please take note of this artist, because he has created an epic that other directors could only dream of. Mad Max: Fury Road is a

Read More
AVENGERS: AGE OF ULTRON Review

AVENGERS: AGE OF ULTRON Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

After years of waiting for a worthy follow-up to the successful 2012 juggernaut, The Avengers, Avengers: Age of Ultron is finally here. Fans from around the world, including myself, have been salivating to see the next evil foe face Earth’s Mightiest Heroes.   The million dollar question is, does it hold up to the first film? The first had a flaw or two but still was a dream come true. So anticipation was even greater the second time around.   Wh

Read More
FURIOUS 7 Review

FURIOUS 7 Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I must give major credit to Universal, the cast, and everyone involved in the Fast and Furious franchise. It’s not too often that a studio can make the seventh installment in a series still relevant and interesting. After The Fast and the Furious: Tokyo Drift (part 3), these films got bigger and better, and for a while, started becoming one of my most anticipated top 20 in each year of their release. The most notable aspect is that while the studios’ main goal is financial success,

Read More
HOME Review

HOME Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Having a place to call home is a great feeling, especially if you have someone to share it with. In this case, that home expands across the far reaches of space. Two worlds colliding creating something heartfelt and beautiful. This thought is amazing, and could lead to happy storytelling as well. Not in this story, though. You could say that about a character or two, with them being the life support that kept ‘Home’ afloat. Besides, the story is easily forgettable, and does not hav

Read More
INSURGENT Review

INSURGENT Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

In most conversations about book adaptations, one of the more popular opinions is that the book is always better than the movie. I agree on the point that the soul that’s turning the page adds his or her own imagination to field the mind. These ideas, taken and pieced together by someone else could produce a visual masterpiece befitting the story, or it could be a complete letdown because it doesn’t serve your vision. I think that the team behind Insurgent has a

Read More
CINDERELLA Review

CINDERELLA Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

So Disney has decided to go far back into the past and adapt their popular animated classics into live action features. Alice in Wonderland had mixed reviews, Maleficent was not critically acclaimed, but it seems Disney has found its footing with its latest feature, Cinderella. That goes to show the hard work put into the script, as well as that of the titular character played by Lily James, who owns the role entirely. She was born to play this character and it shows. Cinde

Read More
ENTOURAGE Review

ENTOURAGE Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Some say the Entourage series is like the male version of Sex and the City. I’m not a fan of either show; but both appear to have much in common from the outside looking in. With the luxurious lifestyle of New Yorkers being a hit, Los Angeles living seemed like a safe bet for what’s to come next. The world that some dream about through billboards, runways, TV shows, and magazines was made almost tangible through the young men of Entourage. With all the promotions and praise, it sti

Read More
POLTERGEIST Review

POLTERGEIST Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

While many loathed the idea of a Poltergeist remake, some greeted the news with cheers. The ones cheering most likely are from the younger demographic, and after watching the film, I believe that’s definitely the film’s target audience. Not having seen the original, I can’t compare the two, but I am now very curious about how this title received its classic horror movie status back in 1982. This status raises so many questions as to how the original caused so many nightmares,

Read More
HOT PURSUIT Review

HOT PURSUIT Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

You do not want to see your favorite actress play a serious significant role all the time. From time to time, you may want something a little different and outside the box. I’m very fond of my serious dramatic stories, and more in love with my goofy comedies. Reese Witherspoon isn’t my favorite actress by far, but she definitely has my respect and attention when she’s the protagonist in a film. I would defend her last six films proudly, and would say that her role was marvelo

Read More
GET HARD Review

GET HARD Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Kevin Hart has been on the scene for over a decade now. He started small like everyone else, and progressed from a stand-up comedian to mainstream movies. Will Ferrell has been around for even longer, and it seems like he never hits a bad note on the big screen or in classic episodes of SNL. Though honestly, Kevin Hart’s latest films have been either hits or misses. It seems like he only plays the same character (himself), which became quite tiresome. I have started to only look forward

Read More
WOMAN IN GOLD Review

WOMAN IN GOLD Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Films based on true stories can either be informative or entertaining. It’s a delight when they accomplish both. While the majority may swing towards the latter, a true story really hits its mark if the audience can empathize with the characters, or realistically sympathize with them. This can be done in hundreds of ways, and mostly comes down to the filmmaker. How does the team behind the camera tell you a story with so many tools to choose from? This is the obvious

Read More
THE WATER DIVINER Review

THE WATER DIVINER Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Once a memory is created it’s considered a true story, and there are an infinite number of stories throughout the ages. Some may be more interesting and grander than others, but each holds its own place in history. What makes one true event more relevant than others? There isn’t a scalable answer to that question, and it depends on the story teller. The Water Diviner tells a true story, or one that’s based on historical events. With that event being World

Read More
WHILE WE'RE YOUNG Review

WHILE WE'RE YOUNG Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Ben Stiller maintains a healthy balance bouncing back and forth between comedies, dramas, and a marriage between the two. It’s difficult to determine which genre he’s more successful in, depending on personal preference or the goals set by the studio or himself. While all of his films may not be commercial or financial juggernauts, they still entertain me, to say the least. With Mr. Stiller being the lead character in While We’re Young, I did enjoy his performance and section

Read More
THE LAZARUS EFFECT Review

THE LAZARUS EFFECT Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Everyone has asked the question, “What if you could bring someone back from the dead?” It’s a fascinating concept, but one of the scariest ideas around. If it were possible, would you really want to go down that road? Where would you draw the line? What type of world would we live in today if we could resurrect the deceased? Losing a loved one can be one of the most disastrous terrors one can imagine. Despite this, I personally don’t think resurrecti

Read More
THE GUNMAN Review

THE GUNMAN Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

With such a short track record, I can at least say director Pierre Morel can put together an entertaining film. He’s directed films like the first Taken, Transporters 1 and 2, and the reboot From Paris with Love, which is actually a surprise. I must say, these films have an element that The Gunman lacks. That missing piece is the main character you actually care about. Sure, it has a decent knife fight choreography, obstacles that have to be overcome mentally, and blazing guns, but at ti

Read More
RUN ALL NIGHT Review

RUN ALL NIGHT Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

What seemed to be just another Liam Neeson film actually turned out to be much more. I think this guy can keep doing his thing forever, and I’m all for it. I didn’t pay attention to the director (Jaume Collet-Serra) until the credits rolled, and then I realized why the film is so surprisingly good. He’s directed a number of great films, and half of them star Mr. Neeson. I admit Liam Neeson seems to often play the same role, but in the end that doesn’

Read More
CHAPPIE Review

CHAPPIE Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Director Neil Blomkamp surprised the world with his science fiction tale District 9, but did the exact opposite by following up with Elysium (which I happened to love). So he was 50-50 coming into Chappie. The premise seemed like it had a familiar flavor. The story seemed relevant, depicting mankind’s race toward the advancement of artificial intelligence. It appeared to be a visual gem that most couldn’t wait to add to their Blu-ray/DVD collection. Did it live up to all the high e

Read More
SEVENTH SON Review

SEVENTH SON Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Have you ever heard of this movie before? I hadn’t until the TV spots graced my screen. Action, adventure, fantasy, witches, goblins, and ghouls all balled up into one to make a cinematic experience. The trailers didn’t suggest a movie with a large budget, but who cares? Sometimes, as an audience member, you just want to be sucked into a world that you have never seen before and appreciate everything it has to offer. Seventh Son has a lot to offer, but gives you

Read More
THE PURGE: ANARCHY Review

THE PURGE: ANARCHY Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

The Purge: Anarchy is an interesting piece that accomplished what the first film didn’t. It was an extremely clever idea that raised a few questions on what the possible future could entail. It was the rebirth of a nation that some agreed with, and others were repulsed with. Majority would hope that the premise would never come to fruition in the real world, but it peaked the interest of the masses on a new twisted take on life. Unfortunately, this great idea was packed down to a home in

Read More
DAWN OF THE PLANET OF THE APES Review

DAWN OF THE PLANET OF THE APES Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I can admit after seeing Rise of The Planet of The Apes I was a little disappointed that director Rupert Wyatt wasn’t coming back for the sequel. It’s not always a guarantee that directors returning will guarantee a hit, but it’s nice to imagine the chemistry created develops a cohesiveness with the cast and crew that feels like a warm family gathering during the holidays. Though at times a fresh artist can pick up where the last great one left off, and deliver something grou

Read More
TAMMY Review

TAMMY Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

While no one had any high expectations, I think it’s safe to say that Melissa McCarthy’s character in Bridesmaids surprised everyone. She hit the screen strong and fierce in a role that was funny, clever, and very unpredictable. She’s very talented with all the charisma in the world, and possibly will have an even stronger acting career in the future, if not already. I may only feel that way depending on whether she creates the characters herself, or leaves that job to someon

Read More
DELIVER US FROM EVIL Review

DELIVER US FROM EVIL Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Today when a film states it’s based on a true story you have to read between the lines. Besides the filmmakers themselves, one can’t be too sure on how true the story being told really is. One needs to actually pay attention to the wording that’s presented and go from there. There are so many variations, and in this case it states ‘Inspired by the actual accounts of an NYPD Sergeant.` That may be the case but where do you draw the line? Part of the marketing suggests th

Read More

Please Like on Facebook