SEARCH GO
99 HOMES Review

99 HOMES Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

If you pointed a gun to my head and said, “Tell me who director Ramin Bahrani is or I’ll pull the trigger!” I simply wouldn’t be here anymore. I’m glad that I know who he is now, for his name is the one to remember—a man who gave an experience I’ve never had before. After making its screening round(s) at the 2014 Toronto International Film Festival, I heard rumblings of the unique nature of 99 Homes. It’s a fascinating film that sheds light on ho

Read More
THE MARTIAN Review

THE MARTIAN Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

How do you make one of the greatest films of all time (Gladiator), then disappear to return fifteen years later as if nothing happened? It feels like it’s been that long since director Ridley Scott has given general audiences anything worthy for a theatrical outing. Ok, that may be an exaggeration, but it has been a while. ‘Black Hawk Down, American Gangster,’ and maybe one other were all great films, but Scott has shot more bad than good behind the camera lately. While &lsqu

Read More
FREEHELD Review

FREEHELD Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Based on actual events that occurred in 2005, Freeheld is a wonderful, yet a sad story about the necessity of equality and loving your neighbor. Buckle up, because the performances are moving, and they pull your emotions from your chest. Director Peter Sollett (Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist) brought out the best of the talent he had to choose from. He presented a strong innocence that your heart has no choice but to like. The film has a strong character build-up and a rich cast to s

Read More
SICARIO Review

SICARIO Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Sicario has an interesting translation. The true meaning of the word is not revealed until the end of the movie. The nature of the word can have a small or a large scale, making it all the more enticing. The film definitely is as well at points, opening you up to a world that’s right under your nose. The movie is set in a dangerous land, rife with tension, similar to a horrific game of where’s Waldo. The killer could be anywhere and show up at any moment. Director Denis Villeneuve

Read More
THE INTERN Review

THE INTERN Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

All don’t feel this way, but I’ve run into a few that do. The thought is that after a certain age you’re no longer of any good to the society. It’s assumed that you just go home, watch TV, and pass away. However, this isn’t the case with everyone, especially with all the wisdom one obtains over the years. This cute little movie addresses this very notion, and the film is rife with comedic puns. It does drag at times, but not too much—in the end, it delivers

Read More
SLEEPING WITH OTHER PEOPLE Review

SLEEPING WITH OTHER PEOPLE Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

It’s not too often that a mature adult comedy comes around addressing matters most are too afraid to discuss. It’s even better when that art form, flips the rules society has catered to regarding men vs. women. ‘Sleeping with other People’ knows exactly what it is, and is laugh out loud funny. The characters are real, their stories felt warm, and it entertains in a weird unique way.   I’m surprised with the outcome of second time writer/direc

Read More
HOTEL TRANSYLVANIA 2

HOTEL TRANSYLVANIA 2

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Director Genndy Tartakovsky is back with another family fun adventure with all his talented voice actors. He picks up right where he last left off, but delivers a different form of entertainment. This time it leans more toward comedy than the heart-warming story of the first movie. It also has some of the same beats and despite not being refreshingly original, it still has enough to make it worthy of the craze it enjoys. It has a cute message toward the end, and is worth your time if you enjoy

Read More
MAZE RUNNER: THE SCORCH TRIALS Review

MAZE RUNNER: THE SCORCH TRIALS Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Who doesn’t love a good maze? I can’t imagine anyone not having fun with one, especially when human beings are thrown in the middle. Not knowing what to expect when the first Maze Runner film was released, I was excited to say the least. I didn’t know what was in store but went along for the ride. While being entertaining overall, I thought the conclusion raised more questions than it answered. It revealed that sequels were to follow this film. The first installment didn&rsqu

Read More
BLACK MASS Review

BLACK MASS Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Many including myself, thought that the best of Johnny Depp was behind us. His latest performances give this impression. His future showed no promise, and his popularity had started to drift. Time after time, his talents were wasted on goofy roles that only embarrassed him among his fans, and he faded out of the spotlight. It was a shame to witness his decline, like watching the slow-sinking Titanic and not being able to help.   I’m delighted to say, those days may b

Read More
EVEREST Review

EVEREST Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

With Mt. Everest being the highest peak in the world, aiming to reach that peak does pique your curiosity. Countless times individuals around the world have marveled at this mountain, hoping to conquer it in all its glory. Not to disrespect those who have lost their lives, but the thought of it can also be insane. I myself was curious to get a taste of something that has gained such worldwide appeal. I wanted to see if I could relate to the passion of putting my life on the line for the greatn

Read More
THE PERFECT GUY Review

THE PERFECT GUY Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I had my fears going in, thinking this movie would be the same clichéd, wannabe thriller that we all have come to know. Fortunately this wasn’t completely the case, as the movie had a few surprises up its sleeve. As many people would assume, it’s the type of film that makes you yell at the screen, putting you right in the victim’s position. This can be a ton of fun with an engaged audience, but only if this is maintained at a respectable level. A lot can also be learne

Read More
CAPTIVE Review

CAPTIVE Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I can only imagine the amount of fear surging through Ashley Smith’s body the night she was taken hostage by Brian Nichols. No one should ever have to succumb to that amount of terror for any reason. The most important aspect of this film its story-telling technique. Is a member of the audience put in the shoes of the victim or the antagonist? Do we know the mindset of the characters and what motivated their actions? Is there a clear moment that put them into the said predicament, or som

Read More
THE VISIT Review

THE VISIT Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I never knew M. Night Shyamalan (The Sixth Sense, Unbreakable, Signs, Lady in the Water, The Happening, The Last Airbender, The Village, After Earth) had the desire to take on comedy. He’s popular in the horror space, offering surprising twists towards the end of his films. At the beginning of his career, the intense build up he had created in his movies and the suspenseful conclusions always seemed to pay off. He was knocking films out of the park. Breathtaking reveals with a great stor

Read More
90 MINUTES IN HEAVEN Review

90 MINUTES IN HEAVEN Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I think it’s safe to say that no one in the history of existence would ever want to go to heaven briefly only to come back to earth. Once you’re in heaven, why would you want to leave? There’s no comparison, but coming back to earth would be like giving back 700 quadrillion dollars you’ve won (tax free) to shovel elephant crap for the rest of your life. It just doesn’t make any sense. So, I was extremely interested in witnessing the story in some form that dealt w

Read More
THE TRANSPORTER REFUELED Review

THE TRANSPORTER REFUELED Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Off the top of my head, it’s hard counting how many franchises make it to the fourth installment. I know there’s few, but it doesn’t happen that often. So when ‘Transporter Refueled’ was announced, I was curious, but soon lost interest learning Jason Statham wasn’t attached. That doesn’t mean a respectable film can’t be developed. Chances rise if expectations are set at a neutral height, so that’s how I approached this latest Transporter pu

Read More
A WALK IN THE WOODS Review

A WALK IN THE WOODS Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I’m not sure if it was poor marketing or my lack of interest, but I saw this without viewing a trailer for it. I didn’t know what to expect, other than great performances from Redford and Nolte, and I got that in hilarious fashion. Failing miserably at basics, it still excelled in others which carried the film along. Take my advice; if you’re in a bad mood watch ‘A Walk in the Woods.’ I can’t remember the last time I laughed so hard, with me not being the on

Read More
WE ARE YOUR FRIENDS Review

WE ARE YOUR FRIENDS Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

There’s been a numerous amount of times I didn’t care for a film, but still loved the title. It’s one of the most important pieces to the puzzle, and sheds some insight during the films conclusion. I can’t say that this time around, for the title doesn’t add up to what’s shown on screen. It would be nice to say “at the least the film is good,” but it’s not. I can’t support anything about it even if I tried. The whole film is miscast,

Read More
WAR ROOM Review

WAR ROOM Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Looks can be deceiving in many forms. What looks nice, shiny, and bright on the outside can actually be dark, sad, and gloomy on the inside. This illusion that haunts many must be addressed before it bursts out and consumes you. If remained unchecked, this daunting curse can redefine who you are, turning you into a beast no one would want to be around. You can find light at the end of the tunnel through prayer, and that’s where the film’s main focus is. Not taking the acting into c

Read More
NO ESCAPE Review

NO ESCAPE Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

So many thoughts and emotions run through the body when making life changing decisions. It’s an obvious amount of stress that we all take turns going through. That burden increases when your immediate family is affected, and is more devastating if that decision puts those loved ones in mortal danger. What is a man or anyone to do in this situation? Do you curl up and die, or give it all you’ve got? Owen Wilson was up to this task, and his filmography has a worthy amount of films to

Read More
HITMAN: AGENT 47 Review

HITMAN: AGENT 47 Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

In today’s society video games are becoming more and more prevalent each day. If not already, one might seem abnormal if they don’t have the latest console hooked up somewhere in their home. It’s a fun way to escape from the world, but what’s even more fascinating is adapting said property to the big screen. Since the inception of Mario Brothers, video games adaptations have been a terrible waste of money and talent. I’m not sure why, but other than ‘Street

Read More
AMERICAN ULTRA Review

AMERICAN ULTRA Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I get really tired of seeing the same premise on the big screen, so it’s nice to stir the pot every once in a while. It really doesn’t matter what genres you decide to blend as long as the story is compelling and the characters are strong. So when the marketing machine for ‘American Ultra’ started labeling it a marriage between the Bourne franchise and ‘Pineapple Express’ I was intrigued but skeptical. It was a neat idea and had potential to be a cult classi

Read More
STRAIGHT OUTTA COMPTON Review

STRAIGHT OUTTA COMPTON Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

“You are now about to witness the strength of street knowledge.” Just as the legendary album Straight Outta Compton hit hard in its introduction back in 1988, director F. Gary Gray (Friday, Set it Off, The Negotiator, The Italian Job) chose the same lyric for his 2015 film adaptation. Those eleven words are just as powerful now as they ever were, and Mr. Gray made sure the audience knew. Straight Outta Compton is not just another hip hop movie. It’s the true biographical tell

Read More
THE MAN FROM U.N.C.L.E. Review

THE MAN FROM U.N.C.L.E. Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Based off the television series from the 1960’s, director Guy Ritchie (Revolver, Sherlock Holmes) took a chance at adapting ‘The Man from U.N.C.L.E.’ for the big screen today. The show was before my time, so there were no expectations to be met. If the television show was as great as the film, it’s a shame it only lasted four seasons. While having no interest initially, leaving the theater I was overjoyed, loving the film.  With his unique style, Guy Ritchie delive

Read More
FANTASTIC FOUR Review

FANTASTIC FOUR Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I give high respect for those who make an attempt, but fall down only to get back up to try again. It’s honorable, and Twentieth Century Fox did just that. After three failed attempts of anything worthy, Fantastic Four has been rebooted again, and it’s mind boggling how this great story of heroes continues to be driven into the ground. There’s nothing fantastic about it. The tone is bland, the story dry, and there’s no action that takes place. We don’t see the cha

Read More
MISSION IMPOSSIBLE: ROGUE NATION Review

MISSION IMPOSSIBLE: ROGUE NATION Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

It is not too many franchises that make it to the fifth installment. Especially when each telling is as good as the last. Not all film franchises have achieved this (*cough* Transformers *cough*). I usually like for a director to stick around for sequels, but with Mission Impossible, the studio has done the exact opposite. It seems to work, so if it isn’t broke, don’t fix it. This time around, director Christopher McQuarrie has taken charge and delivered another entertaining chapte

Read More
VACATION Review

VACATION Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Even if I tried, I couldn’t tell you which of the original National Lapoon’s Vacation series is my favorite. They each have something unique and special about them. So that’s probably why Warner Brothers decided to make a remake of these classics. When I heard about this, I was skeptical, but optimistic. Especially when I found out who the cast was, and how in a way it’s a sequel to the previous chapters. What’s done well can’t always be

Read More
PIXELS Review

PIXELS Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

The thought of aliens invading planet Earth through classic arcade video games sounds thrilling. Half of those games involve outer space in the first place, so the concept piqued my interest. If you think about it, how cool would it be to see a giant Pac-Man sprinting through town destroying everything in its path? As long as it isn’t my town, the idea sounds amazing. On the flip side, this could be a disaster, and a strong one if successful. Of course, it all comes down to the way the s

Read More
SOUTHPAW Review

SOUTHPAW Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

With director Antoine Fuqua behind the camera I knew little of what to expect. While Training Day was a cinematic masterpiece, The Equalizer, and Olympus Has Fallen was not. Other than the trailers revealing a crucial plot point, I was still excited for what’s to come. You have a director I respect, teaming up with actors I adore (Jake Gyllenhaal and Forest Whitaker), so it all seemed like a worthy recipe I was dying to dig into. Of course there are times in films when your expectations

Read More
PAPER TOWNS Review

PAPER TOWNS Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Depending on who you are, there can be a great number of things to appreciate about Paper Towns. It’s a fascinating movie about the power of friendship, adventure, and wonder. It’s about believing in yourself and taking that leap forward with no regrets. Everyone is familiar with this notion in some sense which makes the film that much more relatable. It’s funny, caring, and filled with love, that may force you to reminisce on all your past trials and challenges. It made me r

Read More
TRAINWRECK Review

TRAINWRECK Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

There’s much to be said about Trainwreck. It’s bold, clever, and saying it’s funny is an understatement. It’s hilariously laugh-out-loud funny. The kind that may make your stomach hurt. I was worried for a second that director Judd Apatow had lost his magic. I loved Knocked Up, and 40 Year Old Virgin, but Funny People and This is 40 didn’t work for me. So, not being a fan of Amy Schumer, and dismissing Apatow’s last two films, I was on the fence.

Read More
DARK PLACES Review

DARK PLACES Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

One thing Dark Places got right is the title. Depending on who you ask it’s probably one of the best parts of the film. It fits perfect like a glove. Sometimes life can be hard, and knock you on your ass. The only thing that matters is what you do after that. Do you bend over, or stand up stronger? Everyone has a story to tell, and those life events can sometimes leave you in dark places. All stories don’t end with a happy ending, but they at least end with something you can take w

Read More
ANT-MAN Review

ANT-MAN Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Lately, on online portals, there’s been mention of theaters being saturated by comic book adaptations; that studios continue to spoon-feed us the same bland original story of a superhero by only changing the shooting location and providing a different angle of actions. Fans finally thought they would get an auteur behind the camera with Edgar Wright, but negotiations fell through at Marvel due to creative differences. That was a horrible day for movie fans. Their desire to witness unique

Read More
SELF/LESS Review

SELF/LESS Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Technological advances in science are always on the horizon. It’s mind boggling; what was impossible twenty years ago versus what science can accomplish today. Self/Less is an example of this phenomenon, featuring Ryan Reynolds front and center.  Yet again, he’s a chameleon on screen, soaking up nearly any role he’s cast in. He’s a great talent, but doesn’t get the recognition he deserves. The title of the film has significant meaning to

Read More
MINIONS Review

MINIONS Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

What started out as cute little creatures from Despicable Me have grown into a worldwide phenomenon. These little yellow devils called the Minions are the definition of adorable, and are filled with peace and love. It may be considered a no-brainer to give the little monsters their own franchise—you can’t blame those who greenlighted that decision. The most important question you have to ask is, can this bunch of characters stand on their own? In the past, they had supporting roles

Read More
THE GALLOWS Review

THE GALLOWS Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I like to give credit where it’s due. Blumhouse Productions takes scary concepts, makes them into movies within a budget, and then puts it out for the masses. With the lack of films made in the horror genre, they’re taking full advantage of that empty slot. So they’re smart for doing that, to say the least. Unfortunately, the quality of the film is as low as the amount of money they have invested in it. The Gallows is a failure all around. There is nearly

Read More
TERMINATOR GENISYS Review

TERMINATOR GENISYS Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

It’s hard to believe the first Terminator film hit theaters 31 years ago. It’s a classic that still holds up today blowing everything else in the same genre out of the water. So can that same substance be found today? If you’re looking for it in Terminator Genisys you won’t come remotely close to finding it. You may find a few entertaining elements, but overall it’s a migraine headache of stupidity and lack of reason. We’ve had 31 years and 5 films of eviden

Read More
TED 2 Review

TED 2 Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

It really takes some imagination to tell a story about a talking teddy bear that breathes life. It takes even more brain power to make him a bear you actually care about. After a homerun with the prequel, and a disaster bomb with ‘A Million Ways to Die in the West’, director Seth McFarlane rolled the dice once more. What he did with Ted 2 is appreciated, but doesn’t contain the same shock value the first attempt had. Just think about what was presented. Popular Family Guy cre

Read More
MAX Review

MAX Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

All my life I’ve heard that dogs are a man’s best friend. I wouldn’t know firsthand, but going by all that the media outlets say, the phrase does seem to hold some truth. MAX is a great example of this sentiment and takes it much further. Overall, not only is MAX a heartwarming story, but it also shows you how beneficial K-9’s can be in domestic environments and in foreign lands, lending their assistance. It shows that they have intelligence and feelings, just like you

Read More
DOPE Review

DOPE Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Back in 99, Rick Famuyiwa’s ‘The Wood’ surprised many, becoming a cult classic that most African American communities flocked to. Now he’s back again behind the camera with another gem that turns first impressions on their head. DOPE delivers on levels I didn’t know existed. It’s a wakeup call to all assumptions of youth and their potential future. It follows a geek named Malcolm (Shameik Moore) in his last days of high school aspiring f

Read More
TOMORROWLAND Review

TOMORROWLAND Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

What would life be like if we could see tomorrow? Would you really want to know – or does the never-ending mystery motivate you to get out of bed each morning? An even more interesting question is: what would happen if all the world’s greatest minds came together in one place? How interesting would that tomorrow be? Disney promises to answer these questions, but never does, which is sad. The answers provided don’t remotely pay off, as the marketing and trailers suggest.

Read More
PITCH PERFECT 2 Review

PITCH PERFECT 2 Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

In 2012, director Jason Moore surprised the world with the beautiful voices of the Barden Bellas. Pitch Perfect was, in my opinion, a cinematic masterpiece crafted with a great plot, characters, and musical numbers that made me sing and dance in my living room along with the collegiate superheroes. The movie came out of nowhere, and with positive word of mouth, gained enough of a following to warrant a well-deserved sequel. This time around, Mr. Moore didn’t return t

Read More
MAD MAX: FURY ROAD Review

MAD MAX: FURY ROAD Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

With Action / Adventure being one of my favorite genres, it’s not too often I can start off a review by saying my mind was blown. That statement is true to say the least, because this flick is truly insane. It’s been about 30 years since the last release of a Mad Max film, and Fury Road is the fourth entry from director George Miller. Please take note of this artist, because he has created an epic that other directors could only dream of. Mad Max: Fury Road is a

Read More
AVENGERS: AGE OF ULTRON Review

AVENGERS: AGE OF ULTRON Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

After years of waiting for a worthy follow-up to the successful 2012 juggernaut, The Avengers, Avengers: Age of Ultron is finally here. Fans from around the world, including myself, have been salivating to see the next evil foe face Earth’s Mightiest Heroes.   The million dollar question is, does it hold up to the first film? The first had a flaw or two but still was a dream come true. So anticipation was even greater the second time around.   Wh

Read More
FURIOUS 7 Review

FURIOUS 7 Review

Posted 3 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I must give major credit to Universal, the cast, and everyone involved in the Fast and Furious franchise. It’s not too often that a studio can make the seventh installment in a series still relevant and interesting. After The Fast and the Furious: Tokyo Drift (part 3), these films got bigger and better, and for a while, started becoming one of my most anticipated top 20 in each year of their release. The most notable aspect is that while the studios’ main goal is financial success,

Read More

Please follow me on Social Media