SEARCH GO
RISEN Review

RISEN Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Given the material, I couldn’t think of a better title for the film. It fits so well, and speaks volumes to the biblical story director Kevin Reynolds was trying to tell. Another film of his is The Count of Monte Cristo, which is one of my favorite stories of all time, so I was even more intrigued with his take on the resurrection of Christ. The last few times a large budgeted biblical story hit theaters, it didn’t turn out that great critically or commercially. Those films were ei

Read More
DEADPOOL Review

DEADPOOL Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Twentieth Century Fox has had their fair share of attempting to adapt comic book properties. While I feel only one of their films is a homerun, and the other a close second (X-Men: First Class, X-Men: Days of Future Past, respectively), the rest are underwhelming disappointments, or epic failures that should be forgotten. Especially with their first try with the titular character in X Men Origins: Wolverine. I wasn’t too hurt though. Deadpool isn’t one of my favorite comic book cha

Read More
RIDE ALONG 2 Review

RIDE ALONG 2 Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

In the weeks leading up to Ride Along in 2014, I was more than thrilled with anticipation. I’ve been a fan of Ice Cube from his first appearances in Boyz n the Hood, Friday, and Anaconda, that started in the early 90’s. Along with his musical career, he was one of the few talents in the African-American community that you could count on. Then with him teaming up with Kevin Hart, who was becoming a known Hollywood actor, provided every reason to be even more excited. Ice Cube played

Read More
THE FOREST Review

THE FOREST Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

The trailers didn’t seem too enticing, but the premise behind the film caught my interest. With it being inspired on true events, I was eager to see what first time director Jason Zada was able to do at the helm. The cinematography that he helped put together was possibly the best portion of the film, along with a decent lead by Natalie Dorman who played Sara. Other than those two aspects, there wasn’t much left to grasp my attention. What started out sloppy at first, soon found it

Read More
THE REVENANT Review

THE REVENANT Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Whether you’ve seen every film released, or just one a month, the style of each title may appear to bleed together. With three to five films being released in one week, it may feel the same form of cinema hit your local theater a few months ago. It takes a unique mind, and a true craftsman to produce something refreshing and new. It’s not an easy task by far, and the chance at finding such talent is as hard as winning from a scratch off ticket. So director Alejandro González

Read More
CAROL Review

CAROL Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

If not winning, Cate Blanchett being at least nominated for an academy award is becoming automatic. Her presence is so pleasant and graceful with every role she takes on. That’s what got me excited for her new film Carol. For a woman to carry so much class, I saw it as a treat to see her in a love story, that some may find desirable. If anyone were able to pull off such a task, it’d be her in an instant. What’s most important is the story that surrounds the cast, because if t

Read More
CONCUSSION Review

CONCUSSION Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Will Smith can knock out any role you throw at him. Portraying the genius mind of Dr. Bennet Omalu, he brought forth a performance that will change the way you look at the sport of football forever. As the film suggests, the National Football League owns a day of the week, and before you know it, that number is sure to rise. It’s a sport that’s loved by millions of fans across the world (mostly in the states), and It’s hard to imagine a life without it. It means so much to so

Read More
THE BIG SHORT Review

THE BIG SHORT Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

The credit and housing bubble in 2008 was a difficult time for everyone. You might have lost your job, had to leave your home, or a combination of the two. It’s a time that has passed, but the wounds may not have completely healed. It was rough, and you wouldn’t be alone if you never wanted to go through that again. The only positive aspect from such a nightmare, could be from what lessons we all learned. Usually delving into the world of comedy, director Adam McKay goes beyond the

Read More
SISTERS Review

SISTERS Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Surprising just about everyone in 2012, director Jason Moore shocked America with the collegiate Bardon Bella’s, hitting the stage with rhythmic beats in Pitch Perfect. Saying I was blown away by this film is an understatement. This time he’s back with the Saturday Night Live couple Tina Fey, and Amy Poehler. While I’m more of a fan of Tina Fey, the trailers got me excited for a sibling mashup between the two in their adult years. It seemed like a given that these two would p

Read More
STAR WARS: THE FORCE AWAKENS Review

STAR WARS: THE FORCE AWAKENS Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

The Star Wars franchise means so much to so many people. I remember being in elementary school back in 94’ and seeing the original trilogy for the first time on laser disc at an overnight after school function. Like myself along with millions of other fans, it struck a chord with us that helped mold our childhood that defined classic filmmaking. It set the staple for epic storytelling, deep characters, and has a nostalgic factor that most likely will never be toppled. After the atrocious

Read More
IN THE HEART OF THE SEA Review

IN THE HEART OF THE SEA Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Who wouldn’t sign up to see the leading man in Thor (Chris Hemsworth) hunting a number of whales out at sea? Especially with director Ron Howard (Rush) at the helm. Then throw into the mix the legendary tale of Moby Dick. So what more could you ask for? The average movie goer probably wouldn’t be too excited, but a film enthusiast like myself was overjoyed when I found out the news. You’ve probably heard of the fictional story of the great white whale, but may not have heard

Read More
MACBETH Review

MACBETH Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

From the mind of Shakespeare the story of Macbeth fills the screen. This time Director Justin Kurzel makes an attempt at adapting the book and/or play, and I applaud him for the effort he put forth. The film is filled with an academy nominated cast, so expectations were high in anticipation of greatness. The book laid the hammer down many years ago, but the play was art before my time. Whether you’ve read the book or not, from beginning to end the transition in the film should be smooth.

Read More
CHI-RAQ Review

CHI-RAQ Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Director Spike Lee has been around for quite some time now, and his films never seem to get old. You never know what you’re going to get, which alone is a refreshing feeling when choosing your seat at the movie theater. That’s how I always approach his films, and this time it wasn’t any different. With the sensitive subject of gang violence in parts of the African-American community, Spike Lee decides to adapt the Greek play ‘Lysistrata’ tied in with the countless

Read More
KRAMPUS Review

KRAMPUS Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I can learn to appreciate a popular fictional character flipped upside down for grins. That’s what I thought the premise of Krampus entailed. Not knowing much about the source material, I wanted to go into this experience with an open mind hoping to be surprised. The concept isn’t completely ridiculous, for the fact that we live in a world where an Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter film was greenlit into production. In some cultures the real meaning of Christmas has been destroyed, an

Read More
CREED Movie Review

CREED Movie Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

As great as the first five Rocky films were, I could understand you thinking another sequel to that franchise would be overkill. It would be an interesting debate, given their non-realistic boxing matches, over the top campiness, yet they still contained deep entertaining highly motivating themes. Fortunately this isn’t a Rocky sequel, but a start to a new franchise in the Rocky universe that stands remotely on its own. With fear that this film would rely on connective tissue from the pa

Read More
VICTOR FRANKENSTEIN Review

VICTOR FRANKENSTEIN Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

If you were to tell me you didn’t care to see another reincarnation of the Victor Frankenstein story, I’d have a hard time arguing with you. We all know the story of Igor and Frankenstein, and have heard it countless times. With the millions of dollars Hollywood throws at random productions, most would hope those funds would go to something more original. Considering a reboot, the point is to tell the story you know, but from a completely different angle. Director Paul McGuigan (Pu

Read More
SECRET IN THEIR EYES Review

SECRET IN THEIR EYES Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Based on the 2005 novel that was titled ‘The Question in Their Eyes’ by Eduardo Sacheri, director/writer Billy Ray (Breach, Shattered Glass) takes a swing at adapting it for an American audience. After viewing his version, I’m more than curious to see what the original source material entails. Filled with an Academy Award winning cast, this story is full of surprises you won’t see coming, and provides insight on the hardships of an FBI Agent. It contains a unique form o

Read More
THE HUNGER GAMES: MOCKINGJAY PART 2 Review

THE HUNGER GAMES: MOCKINGJAY PART 2 Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

When director Francis Lawrence hit the scene, taking over The Hunger Games franchise, he blew me away. While already loving the first film in the series, he gave us more of the same, but cranked it up to a whole other level. It was better than the first film across the board. So when I found out he was attached to Mockingjay, I had every reason to be excited. News then dropped of a split in storytelling between the last book, and my fears started to rise. In most cases when this is done, the s

Read More
MY ALL AMERICAN Review

MY ALL AMERICAN Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

If I had to choose one sport over them all, it undoubtedly would be football. Also being from Texas, I was sure these two were the perfect marriage for a dramatic biography that would resonate with me. With an A-class talent leading the way by Aaron Eckhart, expecting a remarkable rendition of past events that strikes you emotionally isn’t much to ask for. While paying respect to the true story, it tried a number of times to get you on board, but you’re too fatigued to welcome it a

Read More
SPECTRE Review

SPECTRE Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I don’t know what it is about James Bond, but there’s something about his character that will never cease to amaze. It’s not like he’s the perfect human being. He’s an arrogant, rude, womanizing smart ass that’s always breaking the rules. That’s usually a formula for disaster, but you can still count on him until the end. Maybe it’s the way he gets it all done that makes you love the guy. Regardless of any negative assumptions one may have, he of

Read More
THE PEANUTS MOVIE Review

THE PEANUTS MOVIE Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Charlie Brown, Charlie Brown, Charlie Brown! Nearly everyone loves Charlie Brown. He was a part of growing up for countless decades in the past that brought smiles to many faces. Based on the Peanuts Comic Strip, The Peanuts Movie dives back in time to the adorable low self-esteemed boy that reminds you that everyone doesn’t have the best of days. The unforeseen terrors of life can be a burden, and doubting yourself, thinking twice, or failing miserably is exactly what this film is about

Read More
BURNT Review

BURNT Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Avery

I’ll be honest admitting that I enjoy the fine delicacies of fast food, but like most I prefer the slow preparation of my meals over a hot stove. Home cooked meals have a relation to this notion, but the quality of the final product goes far beyond the necessary ingredients. Besides knowing how to measure and stir, it’s the love inside the kitchen that cranks your taste buds to the next level. It’s not realistic to expect this type of service at your average restaurant, but i

Read More
ROOM Review

ROOM Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Avery

I haven’t had the chance to travel the world, but one day I will embracing all its glory. It’s just so big, and knowing where to go first can be a daunting task. I wouldn’t know what to think if my world was confined to the size of a large closet. Trying to wrap my head around that is harder than comprehending all the stars in space. Even thinking about it is frightening, and I’m terrified from the many souls that had to go through this. As we all are products of our en

Read More
ROCK THE KASBAH Review

ROCK THE KASBAH Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Avery

It’s much appreciated and insightful when a known custom in your homeland is portrayed by a different culture or group of people. It reassures the notion that we all here on earth have the same aspirations of being loved, happy, and healthy. That we’re all more of the same, but go about our daily routines differently. Rock the Kasbah didn’t strike that claim on the head, but had undertones to suggest it. In a foreign land lead by Bill Murray, he embarks on a journey to find t

Read More
THE LAST WITCH HUNTER Review

THE LAST WITCH HUNTER Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Avery

For a while, I began to think mixing fantasy and adventure in films would make it a laughable mess. Although, these genres were once held in high regard, they have started slipping out the boundary of what was once considered entertaining. The Seventh Son, Jupiter Ascending, Fantastic Four and Pan are just a few movies on this list, and these are all from 2015 alone. If you look back a little further you’ll notice a trend of repeated cash grabs, disguising themselves as nostalgic rich ad

Read More
GOOSEBUMPS Review

GOOSEBUMPS Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I have never read the Goosebumps series, but I do remember their huge popularity back in the 90’s. R.L. Stine, the author, has created a global phenomenon bringing his characters to life. The Goosebumps books were the talk of the town and in the hands of children all around the world. Rife with fantasy and horror themes, the books appeared to be the go-to source for children’s entertainment. It is in fact shocking that it took this long for an adaptation to come around; Sony Pictur

Read More
BRIDGE OF SPIES Review

BRIDGE OF SPIES Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

So it’s a period drama, based on true events, involving spies, with Steven Spielberg behind the camera? Of course I’m on board just as any other film fanatic. Arguably, every film this man has been a part of is considered a classic. In addition to holding that crown, his talents are spread across multiple genres. It doesn’t matter what the plot, goal, or company that’s behind a film is, because if Spielberg is involved, you can bet your money on it. Teaming up with Tom

Read More
CRIMSON PEAK Review

CRIMSON PEAK Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

When having a visionary director like Guillermo del Toro (Blade II, Hellboy, Pacific Rim) direct a movie, beautiful imagery is a given. While most destruction scenes in some blockbusters (Transformers 2, 3, and 4) are loud, messy splashes of color, del Toro takes the time to have the plot match the destruction. He’s an interesting storyteller, but this fact may soon be forgotten. The term ‘overrated’ comes to mind when I hear his name. All over, the Internet echoes of all his

Read More
STEVE JOBS Review

STEVE JOBS Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

So there was already a major swing and miss covering the late Steve Jobs back in 2013. It didn’t do the man justice in any way, so another is now up to the task. This time director Danny Boyle is up to bat, and it seems like he has done his homework. Knowing the plot was a kind of its own, I was skeptical about how this edition would turn out. I’m glad to say it’s one to remember, and will have everyone buzzing about its achievements. This was a lovely film covering the key m

Read More
THE WALK Review

THE WALK Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

As I’m sure millions, if not billions, have already asked, why in the world would anyone risk their life walking on a high wire? Everyone including me has asked this question. But from the movie, not only will this question be answered, you’ll get much more. Respect goes to director Robert Zemeckis (Forrest Gump, Cast Away, Flight) for he surely knows how to create drama. The Walk is another example of why you go to the movies. This movie was not shot for a 70mm screen; the IMAX an

Read More
PAN Review

PAN Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Adapting a classic story that’s loved by millions has its many ups and downs. The stakes are high—it could either be a success or it could also crash into a total disaster. Most likely emotions are neutral, with the general public not caring too much. I was neutral myself, curious and slightly optimistic. Considering director Joe Wright’s previous filmography, there isn’t anything spectacular that stands out. That doesn’t mean a steaming, hot fresh piece of a film

Read More
99 HOMES Review

99 HOMES Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

If you pointed a gun to my head and said, “Tell me who director Ramin Bahrani is or I’ll pull the trigger!” I simply wouldn’t be here anymore. I’m glad that I know who he is now, for his name is the one to remember—a man who gave an experience I’ve never had before. After making its screening round(s) at the 2014 Toronto International Film Festival, I heard rumblings of the unique nature of 99 Homes. It’s a fascinating film that sheds light on ho

Read More
THE MARTIAN Review

THE MARTIAN Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

How do you make one of the greatest films of all time (Gladiator), then disappear to return fifteen years later as if nothing happened? It feels like it’s been that long since director Ridley Scott has given general audiences anything worthy for a theatrical outing. Ok, that may be an exaggeration, but it has been a while. ‘Black Hawk Down, American Gangster,’ and maybe one other were all great films, but Scott has shot more bad than good behind the camera lately. While &lsqu

Read More
FREEHELD Review

FREEHELD Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Based on actual events that occurred in 2005, Freeheld is a wonderful, yet a sad story about the necessity of equality and loving your neighbor. Buckle up, because the performances are moving, and they pull your emotions from your chest. Director Peter Sollett (Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist) brought out the best of the talent he had to choose from. He presented a strong innocence that your heart has no choice but to like. The film has a strong character build-up and a rich cast to s

Read More
SICARIO Review

SICARIO Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Sicario has an interesting translation. The true meaning of the word is not revealed until the end of the movie. The nature of the word can have a small or a large scale, making it all the more enticing. The film definitely is as well at points, opening you up to a world that’s right under your nose. The movie is set in a dangerous land, rife with tension, similar to a horrific game of where’s Waldo. The killer could be anywhere and show up at any moment. Director Denis Villeneuve

Read More
THE INTERN Review

THE INTERN Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

All don’t feel this way, but I’ve run into a few that do. The thought is that after a certain age you’re no longer of any good to the society. It’s assumed that you just go home, watch TV, and pass away. However, this isn’t the case with everyone, especially with all the wisdom one obtains over the years. This cute little movie addresses this very notion, and the film is rife with comedic puns. It does drag at times, but not too much—in the end, it delivers

Read More
SLEEPING WITH OTHER PEOPLE Review

SLEEPING WITH OTHER PEOPLE Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

It’s not too often that a mature adult comedy comes around addressing matters most are too afraid to discuss. It’s even better when that art form, flips the rules society has catered to regarding men vs. women. ‘Sleeping with other People’ knows exactly what it is, and is laugh out loud funny. The characters are real, their stories felt warm, and it entertains in a weird unique way.   I’m surprised with the outcome of second time writer/direc

Read More
HOTEL TRANSYLVANIA 2

HOTEL TRANSYLVANIA 2

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Director Genndy Tartakovsky is back with another family fun adventure with all his talented voice actors. He picks up right where he last left off, but delivers a different form of entertainment. This time it leans more toward comedy than the heart-warming story of the first movie. It also has some of the same beats and despite not being refreshingly original, it still has enough to make it worthy of the craze it enjoys. It has a cute message toward the end, and is worth your time if you enjoy

Read More
MAZE RUNNER: THE SCORCH TRIALS Review

MAZE RUNNER: THE SCORCH TRIALS Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Who doesn’t love a good maze? I can’t imagine anyone not having fun with one, especially when human beings are thrown in the middle. Not knowing what to expect when the first Maze Runner film was released, I was excited to say the least. I didn’t know what was in store but went along for the ride. While being entertaining overall, I thought the conclusion raised more questions than it answered. It revealed that sequels were to follow this film. The first installment didn&rsqu

Read More
BLACK MASS Review

BLACK MASS Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Many including myself, thought that the best of Johnny Depp was behind us. His latest performances give this impression. His future showed no promise, and his popularity had started to drift. Time after time, his talents were wasted on goofy roles that only embarrassed him among his fans, and he faded out of the spotlight. It was a shame to witness his decline, like watching the slow-sinking Titanic and not being able to help.   I’m delighted to say, those days may b

Read More
EVEREST Review

EVEREST Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

With Mt. Everest being the highest peak in the world, aiming to reach that peak does pique your curiosity. Countless times individuals around the world have marveled at this mountain, hoping to conquer it in all its glory. Not to disrespect those who have lost their lives, but the thought of it can also be insane. I myself was curious to get a taste of something that has gained such worldwide appeal. I wanted to see if I could relate to the passion of putting my life on the line for the greatn

Read More
THE PERFECT GUY Review

THE PERFECT GUY Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I had my fears going in, thinking this movie would be the same clichéd, wannabe thriller that we all have come to know. Fortunately this wasn’t completely the case, as the movie had a few surprises up its sleeve. As many people would assume, it’s the type of film that makes you yell at the screen, putting you right in the victim’s position. This can be a ton of fun with an engaged audience, but only if this is maintained at a respectable level. A lot can also be learne

Read More
CAPTIVE Review

CAPTIVE Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I can only imagine the amount of fear surging through Ashley Smith’s body the night she was taken hostage by Brian Nichols. No one should ever have to succumb to that amount of terror for any reason. The most important aspect of this film its story-telling technique. Is a member of the audience put in the shoes of the victim or the antagonist? Do we know the mindset of the characters and what motivated their actions? Is there a clear moment that put them into the said predicament, or som

Read More
THE VISIT Review

THE VISIT Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I never knew M. Night Shyamalan (The Sixth Sense, Unbreakable, Signs, Lady in the Water, The Happening, The Last Airbender, The Village, After Earth) had the desire to take on comedy. He’s popular in the horror space, offering surprising twists towards the end of his films. At the beginning of his career, the intense build up he had created in his movies and the suspenseful conclusions always seemed to pay off. He was knocking films out of the park. Breathtaking reveals with a great stor

Read More

Please Like on Facebook