SEARCH GO
ROCK THE KASBAH Review

ROCK THE KASBAH Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Avery

It’s much appreciated and insightful when a known custom in your homeland is portrayed by a different culture or group of people. It reassures the notion that we all here on earth have the same aspirations of being loved, happy, and healthy. That we’re all more of the same, but go about our daily routines differently. Rock the Kasbah didn’t strike that claim on the head, but had undertones to suggest it. In a foreign land lead by Bill Murray, he embarks on a journey to find t

Read More
THE LAST WITCH HUNTER Review

THE LAST WITCH HUNTER Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Avery

For a while, I began to think mixing fantasy and adventure in films would make it a laughable mess. Although, these genres were once held in high regard, they have started slipping out the boundary of what was once considered entertaining. The Seventh Son, Jupiter Ascending, Fantastic Four and Pan are just a few movies on this list, and these are all from 2015 alone. If you look back a little further you’ll notice a trend of repeated cash grabs, disguising themselves as nostalgic rich ad

Read More
GOOSEBUMPS Review

GOOSEBUMPS Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I have never read the Goosebumps series, but I do remember their huge popularity back in the 90’s. R.L. Stine, the author, has created a global phenomenon bringing his characters to life. The Goosebumps books were the talk of the town and in the hands of children all around the world. Rife with fantasy and horror themes, the books appeared to be the go-to source for children’s entertainment. It is in fact shocking that it took this long for an adaptation to come around; Sony Pictur

Read More
BRIDGE OF SPIES Review

BRIDGE OF SPIES Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

So it’s a period drama, based on true events, involving spies, with Steven Spielberg behind the camera? Of course I’m on board just as any other film fanatic. Arguably, every film this man has been a part of is considered a classic. In addition to holding that crown, his talents are spread across multiple genres. It doesn’t matter what the plot, goal, or company that’s behind a film is, because if Spielberg is involved, you can bet your money on it. Teaming up with Tom

Read More
CRIMSON PEAK Review

CRIMSON PEAK Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

When having a visionary director like Guillermo del Toro (Blade II, Hellboy, Pacific Rim) direct a movie, beautiful imagery is a given. While most destruction scenes in some blockbusters (Transformers 2, 3, and 4) are loud, messy splashes of color, del Toro takes the time to have the plot match the destruction. He’s an interesting storyteller, but this fact may soon be forgotten. The term ‘overrated’ comes to mind when I hear his name. All over, the Internet echoes of all his

Read More
STEVE JOBS Review

STEVE JOBS Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

So there was already a major swing and miss covering the late Steve Jobs back in 2013. It didn’t do the man justice in any way, so another is now up to the task. This time director Danny Boyle is up to bat, and it seems like he has done his homework. Knowing the plot was a kind of its own, I was skeptical about how this edition would turn out. I’m glad to say it’s one to remember, and will have everyone buzzing about its achievements. This was a lovely film covering the key m

Read More
THE WALK Review

THE WALK Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

As I’m sure millions, if not billions, have already asked, why in the world would anyone risk their life walking on a high wire? Everyone including me has asked this question. But from the movie, not only will this question be answered, you’ll get much more. Respect goes to director Robert Zemeckis (Forrest Gump, Cast Away, Flight) for he surely knows how to create drama. The Walk is another example of why you go to the movies. This movie was not shot for a 70mm screen; the IMAX an

Read More
PAN Review

PAN Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Adapting a classic story that’s loved by millions has its many ups and downs. The stakes are high—it could either be a success or it could also crash into a total disaster. Most likely emotions are neutral, with the general public not caring too much. I was neutral myself, curious and slightly optimistic. Considering director Joe Wright’s previous filmography, there isn’t anything spectacular that stands out. That doesn’t mean a steaming, hot fresh piece of a film

Read More
99 HOMES Review

99 HOMES Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

If you pointed a gun to my head and said, “Tell me who director Ramin Bahrani is or I’ll pull the trigger!” I simply wouldn’t be here anymore. I’m glad that I know who he is now, for his name is the one to remember—a man who gave an experience I’ve never had before. After making its screening round(s) at the 2014 Toronto International Film Festival, I heard rumblings of the unique nature of 99 Homes. It’s a fascinating film that sheds light on ho

Read More
THE MARTIAN Review

THE MARTIAN Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

How do you make one of the greatest films of all time (Gladiator), then disappear to return fifteen years later as if nothing happened? It feels like it’s been that long since director Ridley Scott has given general audiences anything worthy for a theatrical outing. Ok, that may be an exaggeration, but it has been a while. ‘Black Hawk Down, American Gangster,’ and maybe one other were all great films, but Scott has shot more bad than good behind the camera lately. While &lsqu

Read More
FREEHELD Review

FREEHELD Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Based on actual events that occurred in 2005, Freeheld is a wonderful, yet a sad story about the necessity of equality and loving your neighbor. Buckle up, because the performances are moving, and they pull your emotions from your chest. Director Peter Sollett (Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist) brought out the best of the talent he had to choose from. He presented a strong innocence that your heart has no choice but to like. The film has a strong character build-up and a rich cast to s

Read More
SICARIO Review

SICARIO Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Sicario has an interesting translation. The true meaning of the word is not revealed until the end of the movie. The nature of the word can have a small or a large scale, making it all the more enticing. The film definitely is as well at points, opening you up to a world that’s right under your nose. The movie is set in a dangerous land, rife with tension, similar to a horrific game of where’s Waldo. The killer could be anywhere and show up at any moment. Director Denis Villeneuve

Read More
THE INTERN Review

THE INTERN Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

All don’t feel this way, but I’ve run into a few that do. The thought is that after a certain age you’re no longer of any good to the society. It’s assumed that you just go home, watch TV, and pass away. However, this isn’t the case with everyone, especially with all the wisdom one obtains over the years. This cute little movie addresses this very notion, and the film is rife with comedic puns. It does drag at times, but not too much—in the end, it delivers

Read More
SLEEPING WITH OTHER PEOPLE Review

SLEEPING WITH OTHER PEOPLE Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

It’s not too often that a mature adult comedy comes around addressing matters most are too afraid to discuss. It’s even better when that art form, flips the rules society has catered to regarding men vs. women. ‘Sleeping with other People’ knows exactly what it is, and is laugh out loud funny. The characters are real, their stories felt warm, and it entertains in a weird unique way.   I’m surprised with the outcome of second time writer/direc

Read More
HOTEL TRANSYLVANIA 2

HOTEL TRANSYLVANIA 2

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Director Genndy Tartakovsky is back with another family fun adventure with all his talented voice actors. He picks up right where he last left off, but delivers a different form of entertainment. This time it leans more toward comedy than the heart-warming story of the first movie. It also has some of the same beats and despite not being refreshingly original, it still has enough to make it worthy of the craze it enjoys. It has a cute message toward the end, and is worth your time if you enjoy

Read More
MAZE RUNNER: THE SCORCH TRIALS Review

MAZE RUNNER: THE SCORCH TRIALS Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Who doesn’t love a good maze? I can’t imagine anyone not having fun with one, especially when human beings are thrown in the middle. Not knowing what to expect when the first Maze Runner film was released, I was excited to say the least. I didn’t know what was in store but went along for the ride. While being entertaining overall, I thought the conclusion raised more questions than it answered. It revealed that sequels were to follow this film. The first installment didn&rsqu

Read More
BLACK MASS Review

BLACK MASS Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Many including myself, thought that the best of Johnny Depp was behind us. His latest performances give this impression. His future showed no promise, and his popularity had started to drift. Time after time, his talents were wasted on goofy roles that only embarrassed him among his fans, and he faded out of the spotlight. It was a shame to witness his decline, like watching the slow-sinking Titanic and not being able to help.   I’m delighted to say, those days may b

Read More
EVEREST Review

EVEREST Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

With Mt. Everest being the highest peak in the world, aiming to reach that peak does pique your curiosity. Countless times individuals around the world have marveled at this mountain, hoping to conquer it in all its glory. Not to disrespect those who have lost their lives, but the thought of it can also be insane. I myself was curious to get a taste of something that has gained such worldwide appeal. I wanted to see if I could relate to the passion of putting my life on the line for the greatn

Read More
THE PERFECT GUY Review

THE PERFECT GUY Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I had my fears going in, thinking this movie would be the same clichéd, wannabe thriller that we all have come to know. Fortunately this wasn’t completely the case, as the movie had a few surprises up its sleeve. As many people would assume, it’s the type of film that makes you yell at the screen, putting you right in the victim’s position. This can be a ton of fun with an engaged audience, but only if this is maintained at a respectable level. A lot can also be learne

Read More
CAPTIVE Review

CAPTIVE Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I can only imagine the amount of fear surging through Ashley Smith’s body the night she was taken hostage by Brian Nichols. No one should ever have to succumb to that amount of terror for any reason. The most important aspect of this film its story-telling technique. Is a member of the audience put in the shoes of the victim or the antagonist? Do we know the mindset of the characters and what motivated their actions? Is there a clear moment that put them into the said predicament, or som

Read More
THE VISIT Review

THE VISIT Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I never knew M. Night Shyamalan (The Sixth Sense, Unbreakable, Signs, Lady in the Water, The Happening, The Last Airbender, The Village, After Earth) had the desire to take on comedy. He’s popular in the horror space, offering surprising twists towards the end of his films. At the beginning of his career, the intense build up he had created in his movies and the suspenseful conclusions always seemed to pay off. He was knocking films out of the park. Breathtaking reveals with a great stor

Read More
90 MINUTES IN HEAVEN Review

90 MINUTES IN HEAVEN Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I think it’s safe to say that no one in the history of existence would ever want to go to heaven briefly only to come back to earth. Once you’re in heaven, why would you want to leave? There’s no comparison, but coming back to earth would be like giving back 700 quadrillion dollars you’ve won (tax free) to shovel elephant crap for the rest of your life. It just doesn’t make any sense. So, I was extremely interested in witnessing the story in some form that dealt w

Read More
THE TRANSPORTER REFUELED Review

THE TRANSPORTER REFUELED Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Off the top of my head, it’s hard counting how many franchises make it to the fourth installment. I know there’s few, but it doesn’t happen that often. So when ‘Transporter Refueled’ was announced, I was curious, but soon lost interest learning Jason Statham wasn’t attached. That doesn’t mean a respectable film can’t be developed. Chances rise if expectations are set at a neutral height, so that’s how I approached this latest Transporter pu

Read More
A WALK IN THE WOODS Review

A WALK IN THE WOODS Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I’m not sure if it was poor marketing or my lack of interest, but I saw this without viewing a trailer for it. I didn’t know what to expect, other than great performances from Redford and Nolte, and I got that in hilarious fashion. Failing miserably at basics, it still excelled in others which carried the film along. Take my advice; if you’re in a bad mood watch ‘A Walk in the Woods.’ I can’t remember the last time I laughed so hard, with me not being the on

Read More
WE ARE YOUR FRIENDS Review

WE ARE YOUR FRIENDS Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

There’s been a numerous amount of times I didn’t care for a film, but still loved the title. It’s one of the most important pieces to the puzzle, and sheds some insight during the films conclusion. I can’t say that this time around, for the title doesn’t add up to what’s shown on screen. It would be nice to say “at the least the film is good,” but it’s not. I can’t support anything about it even if I tried. The whole film is miscast,

Read More
WAR ROOM Review

WAR ROOM Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Looks can be deceiving in many forms. What looks nice, shiny, and bright on the outside can actually be dark, sad, and gloomy on the inside. This illusion that haunts many must be addressed before it bursts out and consumes you. If remained unchecked, this daunting curse can redefine who you are, turning you into a beast no one would want to be around. You can find light at the end of the tunnel through prayer, and that’s where the film’s main focus is. Not taking the acting into c

Read More
NO ESCAPE Review

NO ESCAPE Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

So many thoughts and emotions run through the body when making life changing decisions. It’s an obvious amount of stress that we all take turns going through. That burden increases when your immediate family is affected, and is more devastating if that decision puts those loved ones in mortal danger. What is a man or anyone to do in this situation? Do you curl up and die, or give it all you’ve got? Owen Wilson was up to this task, and his filmography has a worthy amount of films to

Read More
HITMAN: AGENT 47 Review

HITMAN: AGENT 47 Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

In today’s society video games are becoming more and more prevalent each day. If not already, one might seem abnormal if they don’t have the latest console hooked up somewhere in their home. It’s a fun way to escape from the world, but what’s even more fascinating is adapting said property to the big screen. Since the inception of Mario Brothers, video games adaptations have been a terrible waste of money and talent. I’m not sure why, but other than ‘Street

Read More
AMERICAN ULTRA Review

AMERICAN ULTRA Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I get really tired of seeing the same premise on the big screen, so it’s nice to stir the pot every once in a while. It really doesn’t matter what genres you decide to blend as long as the story is compelling and the characters are strong. So when the marketing machine for ‘American Ultra’ started labeling it a marriage between the Bourne franchise and ‘Pineapple Express’ I was intrigued but skeptical. It was a neat idea and had potential to be a cult classi

Read More
STRAIGHT OUTTA COMPTON Review

STRAIGHT OUTTA COMPTON Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

“You are now about to witness the strength of street knowledge.” Just as the legendary album Straight Outta Compton hit hard in its introduction back in 1988, director F. Gary Gray (Friday, Set it Off, The Negotiator, The Italian Job) chose the same lyric for his 2015 film adaptation. Those eleven words are just as powerful now as they ever were, and Mr. Gray made sure the audience knew. Straight Outta Compton is not just another hip hop movie. It’s the true biographical tell

Read More
THE MAN FROM U.N.C.L.E. Review

THE MAN FROM U.N.C.L.E. Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Based off the television series from the 1960’s, director Guy Ritchie (Revolver, Sherlock Holmes) took a chance at adapting ‘The Man from U.N.C.L.E.’ for the big screen today. The show was before my time, so there were no expectations to be met. If the television show was as great as the film, it’s a shame it only lasted four seasons. While having no interest initially, leaving the theater I was overjoyed, loving the film.  With his unique style, Guy Ritchie delive

Read More
FANTASTIC FOUR Review

FANTASTIC FOUR Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I give high respect for those who make an attempt, but fall down only to get back up to try again. It’s honorable, and Twentieth Century Fox did just that. After three failed attempts of anything worthy, Fantastic Four has been rebooted again, and it’s mind boggling how this great story of heroes continues to be driven into the ground. There’s nothing fantastic about it. The tone is bland, the story dry, and there’s no action that takes place. We don’t see the cha

Read More
MISSION IMPOSSIBLE: ROGUE NATION Review

MISSION IMPOSSIBLE: ROGUE NATION Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

It is not too many franchises that make it to the fifth installment. Especially when each telling is as good as the last. Not all film franchises have achieved this (*cough* Transformers *cough*). I usually like for a director to stick around for sequels, but with Mission Impossible, the studio has done the exact opposite. It seems to work, so if it isn’t broke, don’t fix it. This time around, director Christopher McQuarrie has taken charge and delivered another entertaining chapte

Read More
VACATION Review

VACATION Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Even if I tried, I couldn’t tell you which of the original National Lapoon’s Vacation series is my favorite. They each have something unique and special about them. So that’s probably why Warner Brothers decided to make a remake of these classics. When I heard about this, I was skeptical, but optimistic. Especially when I found out who the cast was, and how in a way it’s a sequel to the previous chapters. What’s done well can’t always be

Read More
PIXELS Review

PIXELS Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

The thought of aliens invading planet Earth through classic arcade video games sounds thrilling. Half of those games involve outer space in the first place, so the concept piqued my interest. If you think about it, how cool would it be to see a giant Pac-Man sprinting through town destroying everything in its path? As long as it isn’t my town, the idea sounds amazing. On the flip side, this could be a disaster, and a strong one if successful. Of course, it all comes down to the way the s

Read More
SOUTHPAW Review

SOUTHPAW Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

With director Antoine Fuqua behind the camera I knew little of what to expect. While Training Day was a cinematic masterpiece, The Equalizer, and Olympus Has Fallen was not. Other than the trailers revealing a crucial plot point, I was still excited for what’s to come. You have a director I respect, teaming up with actors I adore (Jake Gyllenhaal and Forest Whitaker), so it all seemed like a worthy recipe I was dying to dig into. Of course there are times in films when your expectations

Read More
PAPER TOWNS Review

PAPER TOWNS Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Depending on who you are, there can be a great number of things to appreciate about Paper Towns. It’s a fascinating movie about the power of friendship, adventure, and wonder. It’s about believing in yourself and taking that leap forward with no regrets. Everyone is familiar with this notion in some sense which makes the film that much more relatable. It’s funny, caring, and filled with love, that may force you to reminisce on all your past trials and challenges. It made me r

Read More
TRAINWRECK Review

TRAINWRECK Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

There’s much to be said about Trainwreck. It’s bold, clever, and saying it’s funny is an understatement. It’s hilariously laugh-out-loud funny. The kind that may make your stomach hurt. I was worried for a second that director Judd Apatow had lost his magic. I loved Knocked Up, and 40 Year Old Virgin, but Funny People and This is 40 didn’t work for me. So, not being a fan of Amy Schumer, and dismissing Apatow’s last two films, I was on the fence.

Read More
DARK PLACES Review

DARK PLACES Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

One thing Dark Places got right is the title. Depending on who you ask it’s probably one of the best parts of the film. It fits perfect like a glove. Sometimes life can be hard, and knock you on your ass. The only thing that matters is what you do after that. Do you bend over, or stand up stronger? Everyone has a story to tell, and those life events can sometimes leave you in dark places. All stories don’t end with a happy ending, but they at least end with something you can take w

Read More
ANT-MAN Review

ANT-MAN Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Lately, on online portals, there’s been mention of theaters being saturated by comic book adaptations; that studios continue to spoon-feed us the same bland original story of a superhero by only changing the shooting location and providing a different angle of actions. Fans finally thought they would get an auteur behind the camera with Edgar Wright, but negotiations fell through at Marvel due to creative differences. That was a horrible day for movie fans. Their desire to witness unique

Read More
SELF/LESS Review

SELF/LESS Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Technological advances in science are always on the horizon. It’s mind boggling; what was impossible twenty years ago versus what science can accomplish today. Self/Less is an example of this phenomenon, featuring Ryan Reynolds front and center.  Yet again, he’s a chameleon on screen, soaking up nearly any role he’s cast in. He’s a great talent, but doesn’t get the recognition he deserves. The title of the film has significant meaning to

Read More
MINIONS Review

MINIONS Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

What started out as cute little creatures from Despicable Me have grown into a worldwide phenomenon. These little yellow devils called the Minions are the definition of adorable, and are filled with peace and love. It may be considered a no-brainer to give the little monsters their own franchise—you can’t blame those who greenlighted that decision. The most important question you have to ask is, can this bunch of characters stand on their own? In the past, they had supporting roles

Read More
THE GALLOWS Review

THE GALLOWS Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I like to give credit where it’s due. Blumhouse Productions takes scary concepts, makes them into movies within a budget, and then puts it out for the masses. With the lack of films made in the horror genre, they’re taking full advantage of that empty slot. So they’re smart for doing that, to say the least. Unfortunately, the quality of the film is as low as the amount of money they have invested in it. The Gallows is a failure all around. There is nearly

Read More
TERMINATOR GENISYS Review

TERMINATOR GENISYS Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

It’s hard to believe the first Terminator film hit theaters 31 years ago. It’s a classic that still holds up today blowing everything else in the same genre out of the water. So can that same substance be found today? If you’re looking for it in Terminator Genisys you won’t come remotely close to finding it. You may find a few entertaining elements, but overall it’s a migraine headache of stupidity and lack of reason. We’ve had 31 years and 5 films of eviden

Read More

Please Like on Facebook