SEARCH GO
QUEEN OF KATWE Review

QUEEN OF KATWE Review

Posted 11 months ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Disney is doing well with their biographical true stories of brave individuals that overcome adversity. In 2015 they produced McFarland USA about a united cross country team, and this year we have an up and coming queen chess master in Uganda. It’s another perfect illustration of what someone else’s reality may be, as opposed to your own. It’s inspiring, powerful, and will boost your mood. The cast is in a league of their own with Oscar winners and contenders, and overall it&

Read More
STORKS Review

STORKS Review

Posted 11 months ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Can you imagine if babies were actually delivered to your front door by request by a stork? Absolutely not, but whoever came up with the idea did. No one would be excited for this feature except children, but we all can relate to hearing this once or twice as a child. That may be who you initially thought this was aimed at, but adults may find some enjoyment too.   This film is being co-directed by Nicholas Stoller (Neighbors)and Doug Sweetland. Sweetland is making his dir

Read More
THE MAGNIFICENT SEVEN Review

THE MAGNIFICENT SEVEN Review

Posted 11 months ago By Brandon Keith Avery

If you’re tired of remakes and reboots, your cry would be heard loud and clear. Every other day it seems like another rehash is on the horizon, though some properties are still worth dusting off. As most know, this remake was adapted from the 1960 western The Magnificent Seven of the same name, which was previously remade from the original Seven Samurai film in 1954. The word of mouth from these two films couldn’t be any more positive, as they’re both respected as classics. S

Read More
BLAIR WITCH Review

BLAIR WITCH Review

Posted 11 months ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Back in 1999, when The Blair Witch Project first hit theaters, it was something no one had ever seen before. The birth of found footage material was the start of a new age of filmmaking that may have opened doors to a multitude of possibilities. It came, had it’s run, then burned to the ground never to arise again. What started out as a new trend ended terribly. What was once genuine turned into a flood number of cash grabbing copy cats that never came close to the original. But director

Read More
SNOWDEN Review

SNOWDEN Review

Posted 11 months ago By Brandon Keith Avery

In the art of filmmaking every production comes in many shapes and sizes. For me the stories that are true have the greatest impact at times. Knowing those events actually took place in the real world adds an exhilarating excitement to the overall experience. So if a film addresses actual history, one may expect the material to be transparent in its message. The viewer should know what really happened without playing a guessing game of what really took place. That was the biggest problem with

Read More
WHEN THE BOUGH BREAKS Review

WHEN THE BOUGH BREAKS Review

Posted 11 months ago By Brandon Keith Avery

The fall season of films is upon us, and Screen Gems still decides that if it isn’t broken don’t fix it. You can’t blame them either. They’re known for the lower budget releases with lower risks and higher chances of a return. The studio has a wide range of audiences that it tries to reach throughout the year, though at this point it seems like more of the same thing with the romantic, obsessed, crazed stalker vibe flick. More of the same can be a great thing, as long a

Read More
MORGAN Review

MORGAN Review

Posted 12 months ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I’m sure you’ve heard of the name Ridley Scott (Gladiator) before. Well he didn’t direct Morgan, but his son Luke Scott did. And he performed quite well for his directorial debut. It’s recommended you stay away from as many trailers as you possibly can before viewing this. Due to the context, it seems necessary to get the full experience of the film without viewing trailers if any enjoyment is to be had. Of course that all depends on what you’re looking for. Morga

Read More
SOUTHSIDE WITH YOU Review

SOUTHSIDE WITH YOU Review

Posted 12 months ago By Emeka Anyanwu

First, if you have not seen Southside with You yet and have not purchased your ticket to see it, purchase it now! This was such a beautiful film, and it was much more than I expected! I expected to see a sweet, romantic film about our President and First Lady`s very first date. But it was so much more! The film was definitely about a young, confident Barack wooing a well-put together, follow the rules (including not dating the summer associate you are advising at your law firm) M

Read More
DON'T BREATHE Review

DON'T BREATHE Review

Posted 12 months ago By Brandon Keith Avery

A studio will spend a few hundred million dollars on a project, not caring at all about the quality of the film but instead only profit. A majority of the time this model delivers a dribbled mess of a film that only spews out visual noise. The only objective being to try and trick you and convince you that the material is good, instead of actually containing substance. Of course that’s a horrible approach, and sometimes what’s considered small can have the greatest impact. If only

Read More
HANDS OF STONE Review

HANDS OF STONE Review

Posted 12 months ago By Emeka Anyanwu

What a great film! It navigated multiple decades seamlessly. The movie spans the life and career of boxer, Roberto Duran (Edgar Ramirez, Joy), from 1964 to 1983. It even spends a little time in the 50`s when it shows legendary boxing trainer, Ray Arcel (Robert De Niro, Goodfellas), being forced out of boxing by the Mafia.  Duran`s Panamanian pride oozes out of the film, emphasized in scenes that give brief history lessons of the Panama Canal and scenes that make you feel lik

Read More
WAR DOGS Review

WAR DOGS Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

If you didn’t already know, billions of dollars have been spent on wars throughout the decades. It’s a profitable and disgusting line of business in some sorts. And who better to bring that to the forefront than director of the Hangover Trilogy, Due Date, Old School, Starsky & Hutch, and Road Trip, Todd Philips. Being known for his comedic chops in his past films, War Dogs shows that he still has serious-toned storytelling skills up his sleeve. While not losing his directorial

Read More
BEN-HUR Review

BEN-HUR Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Ben-Hur is a classic story that dates back far enough for most to remember. There was a short film released in 1907, and the next attempt was directed by Fred Niblo in 1925. The most notable remake of the film was William Wyler’s 1959 adaptation starring Charlton Heston. Having not seen that film, over the years I repeatedly heard countless film fans rave about its greatness. Though that was decades ago, and as we all know film technology has advanced significantly. So director Timur Bek

Read More
KUBO AND THE TWO STRINGS Review

KUBO AND THE TWO STRINGS Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

For those who can’t get enough action, adventure, and all things epic, on the surface Kubo and the Two Strings appears to be everything you’d asked for. Samurai slashing swords, magical powers, and spirited characters are the perfect mix for fantasy seeking film fans. Previously having worked on Paranorman, Coraline, and Boxtrolls in the animation department, first time director Travis Knight decides to take his skills to the next level. For the most part, you will receive fulfilli

Read More
PETE'S DRAGON Review

PETE'S DRAGON Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

It may be difficult finding someone who doesn’t love old Disney films. There’s just something about them that makes me feel good inside. They’re not flawless, but not much is. For myself it’s exciting to see them adapted with the latest technology. The movie-going audience has come a long way as far as expectations, but the major studios are constantly pushing the envelope in what they can deliver to the public. They accomplished that and more with this latest incarnati

Read More
SAUSAGE PARTY Review

SAUSAGE PARTY Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

If you thought the executives over at Sony Pictures had lost their minds after the initial announcement of Sausage Party, you wouldn`t be alone. The idea of sentient sausages searching for truth was assumed to be anything beyond rational. Then just about when great splashes normally die down to a forgotten memory, the trailer hit changing the perception entirely. Some of Hollywood`s most famous comedic stars decided to team together in a raunchy, R-rated comedy about the lives of everyday food

Read More
SUICIDE SQUAD Review

SUICIDE SQUAD Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

After having a few decent hitters under his belt with End of Watch and Fury, director David Ayer decided to take on a larger beast with Warner Bros and DC Entertainment’s Suicide Squad. After mixed reviews for Man of Steel, and an onslaught of horrific remarks on Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice, the pressure was on for DC films to get their act together. From the surface it appeared the studio was doing just that. The concept in itself for Suicide Squad is brilliant enough by transfor

Read More
LIGHTS OUT Review

LIGHTS OUT Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

The scariest things imaginable can appear in the dark. That’s what first time feature film director David F. Sandberg tried to take advantage of with Lights Out. Produced by James Wan, David took the simplest concept of horror and created a ninety minute film that may have you think twice about turning the lights off. The trailers seemed interesting enough, but it all comes down to the story. The mystery and the scares are there, along with some adequate characters. While a majority of t

Read More
ICE AGE: COLLISION COURSE Review

ICE AGE: COLLISION COURSE Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Ice Age: Collision Course makes the fifth chapter in the Ice Age franchise, which means these things keep on making money. There’s great appeal to be had by children for such creatures that grace the screen, though I know none of them myself. This was my first viewing of any of the Ice Age films, and I got exactly what I expected, a semi-fun adventure of characters having to come together for the greater good. Seems like we’ve seen that so many times, but the film must be doing som

Read More
GHOSTBUSTERS Review

GHOSTBUSTERS Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Ever since the first day production of this film was announced, it’s had a tough time winning the enthusiasm of movie goers. It seemed like every form of promotional material was shat upon without any reliable sources to warrant that type of response. And learning that the iconic all-male cast was being switched to an all-female cast didn’t help convert the naysayers either. That’s sad given the director Paul Feig (Bridesmaids) has true talent behind the camera. Once again he

Read More
MIKE AND DAVE NEED WEDDING DATES Review

MIKE AND DAVE NEED WEDDING DATES Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

We’ve been to weddings and know they all range high and low from all different types of cultures. So what’s so special about another wedding movie that probably won’t be funny and caters to a group of people I can’t relate to? The honesty in the characters’ behavior is what’s so special. On the surface Mike and Dave Need Wedding Dates could easily be ignored as another yawner that you could catch on television some time down the line, but instead it is a cle

Read More
INDEPENDENCE DAY: RESURGENCE Review

INDEPENDENCE DAY: RESURGENCE Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I have my own reservations about Twentieth Century Fox and the way they adapt feature films. Annoyed with many of their properties, they still delivered one of the greatest movie theater experiences twenty years ago with Independence Day. Having watched the Blu-ray edition just a few weeks prior to seeing the sequel, a few of the effects don’t hold up, but the characters and their relationships do. We saw humans from all different walks of life come together in ways that can’t be i

Read More
THE SHALLOWS Review

THE SHALLOWS Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I’m not into the beach, surfing, or giant fish. So there wasn’t too much that got my attention when I first learned about The Shallows. There’s big shoes to fill trying to top JAWS. The trailers looked fine though, but I wasn’t counting the days until its release. Knowing director Jaume Collet-Serra was attached did change my attitude towards it. I actually love every film he’s been attached to , House of Wax, Orphan, Unknown, Non-Stop, and Run All Night. To me th

Read More
FREE STATE OF JONES Review

FREE STATE OF JONES Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

It goes without saying that the American Civil War was an extremely dark time in United States history. For years gruesome barbaric events flooded multiple states for all, especially those of color. There’s a number of heroic tales that can be told during this time of mayhem. Wherever you threw a rock it would land in a place that had an unwelcoming presence of pain and torture. So to pick The Free State of Jones out of the bunch as a necessary story to tell must have been compelling. To

Read More
TEENAGE MUTANT NINJA TURTLES: OUT OF THE SHADOWS Review

TEENAGE MUTANT NINJA TURTLES: OUT OF THE SHADOWS Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Growing up my world revolved around a few things, with one being Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. I absolutely loved waking up to this cartoon in the late 80’s and early 90’s. They were fun, goofy characters that went on martial arts adventures and also loved pizza. So shortly after, when the live action films hit the big screen, it was a dream come true. Unfortunately, the technology wasn’t advanced enough to fully flesh out all the greatness this franchise had to offer. Then 2

Read More
CAPTAIN AMERICA: CIVIL WAR Review

CAPTAIN AMERICA: CIVIL WAR Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

For Marvel Studios/Disney to be on their thirteenth film, you’d think superhero fatigue would start to consume the market. Whether it’s with box office receipts, or on screen with repetitive story-telling, a dip in success might have seemed inevitable. Fortunately, this isn’t the case with their latest film, and it appears they’re just scratching the surface with creativity and character arcs. Civil War is in so many ways a dream come true for comic book fans, and conta

Read More
GREEN ROOM Review

GREEN ROOM Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

It’s a big plus to have no clue how a story will end. That’s what Green Room had to offer and so much more. The trailers mislead you in the best of ways, promising a tight edge of your seat thriller, delivering on that promise, but from a completely different angle than you’re expecting. It doesn’t matter if you relate to the characters initially or not, because it’s about them surviving as human beings. What their particular taste in art or fashion is is for anot

Read More
THE HUNTSMAN: WINTER’S WAR Review

THE HUNTSMAN: WINTER’S WAR Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Back in 2012, Universal Pictures decided to take a crack at telling their own version of the classic story of Snow White and the Seven Dwarves. I wasn’t at all interested in the project initially, but my mind changed after learning about the involvement of Chris Hemsworth as one of the leads being the Huntsman. Then finding out Charlize Theron was part of the cast as the antagonist piqued my interest even more. The idea was great, and the film had remarkable performances from all the lea

Read More
BARBERSHOP: THE NEXT CUT Review

BARBERSHOP: THE NEXT CUT Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

In the third installment of the Barbershop franchise, director Malcolm D. Lee takes his turn at the plate. I personally thought the first two films were just ok and didn’t leave anything worth mentioning for future discussion. That isn’t the case with Barbershop: The Next Cut. Mr. Lee placed cast members from the previous two films in prominent and small roles, delivering a film that felt like home. There’s plenty of comedic elements throughout, strong relationships between t

Read More
THE JUNGLE BOOK Review

THE JUNGLE BOOK Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

There’s millions of fans across the world that can’t get enough of what Disney produces. In recent years, their film division decided to start dishing out live action versions of their animated films, and I couldn’t be any happier. While all of their new live action films haven’t been a critical hit, they’ve at least made up the difference in opinion at the box office. I wasn’t a fan of Maleficent or Alice in Wonderland, but enjoyed nearly everything about C

Read More
HARDCORE HENRY Review

HARDCORE HENRY Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

At times it seems like Hollywood is never looking for any new ideas to hit the big screens across the country. So when they do, it’s exciting and can really grab a movie goer’s attention, especially when you throw a first person perspective into the mix. That’s been popular for quite some time and gained my interest back in the 90’s with the 007 Goldeneye videogame. Though, when the trailer first hit for Hardcore Henry, I wasn’t glued to the television excited wit

Read More
BATMAN V SUPERMAN: DAWN OF JUSTICE Review

BATMAN V SUPERMAN: DAWN OF JUSTICE Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I loved Man of Steel. I feel it delivered on everything it promised and exceeded my well placed expectations. It’s in my top 10 comic book movies of all time and contains some of the best action set pieces ever put on screen. Opinions on the movie are split right down the middle, and I am still confused by all the complaints that film has. At the time, I, along with everyone else, had no idea Man of Steel was the introduction to a new cinematic universe for DC comics. And now director Za

Read More
THE DIVERGENT SERIES: ALLEGIANT Review

THE DIVERGENT SERIES: ALLEGIANT Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

When it comes to the films in the Divergent series, I should be running to the theater just to catch a glimpse. They’re visually stunning, contain epic adventures, and have sprinkles of action in all the right places. On the outside they look like a fun rollercoaster, or at least that’s how the studio sold them. Unfortunately, they are more comparable to a McDonald’s play land than what’s promised in the trailers. I wasn’t a fan of the first two films at all. Frus

Read More
THE BRONZE Review

THE BRONZE Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

The Bronze is such an interesting title choice. It’s not the most satisfying award when it comes to placement, but still gains a fair amount of respect. For not being number one in its category, curiosity rises on why such a decision was made in the naming of this film. The title certainly fits the story, but it doesn’t contain a strong foundation to carry it along. What makes matters worse is the main and supporting cast fail to bring anything to the table to balance things out. T

Read More
10 CLOVERFIELD LANE Review

10 CLOVERFIELD LANE Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

January 2008 is when the first Cloverfield film hit theaters, and no one knew what to expect from the found footage approach. The ending could’ve been fleshed out more, but it still paid off as a film that I thoroughly enjoyed. I loved the citywide adventure the characters embarked on. The large question going into 10 Cloverfield Lane is whether it’s connected to the past film or not. Of course there will be no spoilers here. You’ll just have to see the film for yourself. It

Read More
KNIGHT OF CUPS Review

KNIGHT OF CUPS Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Avery

 I don’t view trailers as much as I used to. I’ve learned to appreciate going into some films knowing as little as possible. It can make for a more thrilling experience, but it doesn’t always work out that way. Out of the eight films under the belt of director Terrence Malik, I’ve seen only two of his films; Knight of Cups and The Tree of Life. The latter is a film I choose to never view again. I’d rather be taking an exam than endure its slow pacing and limi

Read More
GODS OF EGYPT Review

GODS OF EGYPT Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Wow! There’s so much I can say, but I’ll try to keep it at normal length. I just have to wonder, at what point is someone supposed to realize they’re making an idiotic mistake; months before the release of a film is too late in my book. Though I’m just one person. Gods of Egypt is a creative, misguided attempt at depicting ancient Egypt in all its glory many years ago. The idea behind this film feels like the voice of a mature child that clashes his action figures toget

Read More
TRIPLE 9 Review

TRIPLE 9 Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

When the trailer for Triple 9 first dropped it startled me. Its brutal and cold blooded nature certainly caught my attention. I didn’t know their motivations, but I was interested in what pushed everyone forward. Their blazing guns impressed me, and an added bonus was all the recognizable faces pulling the trigger. To find out the real meaning behind all the mayhem on the streets intrigued me dearly. The environment felt cold and scary. With me not having seen any of director John Hillco

Read More
EDDIE THE EAGLE Review

EDDIE THE EAGLE Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

There’s no shock value to what’s expected. You’re familiar with its presence, and it makes you comfortable. It’s appreciated and welcomed, but can also run its course becoming tiresome. So when something new comes along, you have more to react to and enjoy. It goes the same with underdogs. Many people like to be surprised, especially when the thought behind such emotions is backed up with passion and love. You gain a respect for all parties involved due to their effort.

Read More
RISEN Review

RISEN Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Given the material, I couldn’t think of a better title for the film. It fits so well, and speaks volumes to the biblical story director Kevin Reynolds was trying to tell. Another film of his is The Count of Monte Cristo, which is one of my favorite stories of all time, so I was even more intrigued with his take on the resurrection of Christ. The last few times a large budgeted biblical story hit theaters, it didn’t turn out that great critically or commercially. Those films were ei

Read More
DEADPOOL Review

DEADPOOL Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Twentieth Century Fox has had their fair share of attempting to adapt comic book properties. While I feel only one of their films is a homerun, and the other a close second (X-Men: First Class, X-Men: Days of Future Past, respectively), the rest are underwhelming disappointments, or epic failures that should be forgotten. Especially with their first try with the titular character in X Men Origins: Wolverine. I wasn’t too hurt though. Deadpool isn’t one of my favorite comic book cha

Read More
RIDE ALONG 2 Review

RIDE ALONG 2 Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

In the weeks leading up to Ride Along in 2014, I was more than thrilled with anticipation. I’ve been a fan of Ice Cube from his first appearances in Boyz n the Hood, Friday, and Anaconda, that started in the early 90’s. Along with his musical career, he was one of the few talents in the African-American community that you could count on. Then with him teaming up with Kevin Hart, who was becoming a known Hollywood actor, provided every reason to be even more excited. Ice Cube played

Read More
THE FOREST Review

THE FOREST Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

The trailers didn’t seem too enticing, but the premise behind the film caught my interest. With it being inspired on true events, I was eager to see what first time director Jason Zada was able to do at the helm. The cinematography that he helped put together was possibly the best portion of the film, along with a decent lead by Natalie Dorman who played Sara. Other than those two aspects, there wasn’t much left to grasp my attention. What started out sloppy at first, soon found it

Read More
THE REVENANT Review

THE REVENANT Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Whether you’ve seen every film released, or just one a month, the style of each title may appear to bleed together. With three to five films being released in one week, it may feel the same form of cinema hit your local theater a few months ago. It takes a unique mind, and a true craftsman to produce something refreshing and new. It’s not an easy task by far, and the chance at finding such talent is as hard as winning from a scratch off ticket. So director Alejandro González

Read More
CAROL Review

CAROL Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

If not winning, Cate Blanchett being at least nominated for an academy award is becoming automatic. Her presence is so pleasant and graceful with every role she takes on. That’s what got me excited for her new film Carol. For a woman to carry so much class, I saw it as a treat to see her in a love story, that some may find desirable. If anyone were able to pull off such a task, it’d be her in an instant. What’s most important is the story that surrounds the cast, because if t

Read More

Please Like on Facebook