SEARCH GO
ICE AGE: COLLISION COURSE Review

ICE AGE: COLLISION COURSE Review

Posted 11 months ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Ice Age: Collision Course makes the fifth chapter in the Ice Age franchise, which means these things keep on making money. There’s great appeal to be had by children for such creatures that grace the screen, though I know none of them myself. This was my first viewing of any of the Ice Age films, and I got exactly what I expected, a semi-fun adventure of characters having to come together for the greater good. Seems like we’ve seen that so many times, but the film must be doing som

Read More
GHOSTBUSTERS Review

GHOSTBUSTERS Review

Posted 11 months ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Ever since the first day production of this film was announced, it’s had a tough time winning the enthusiasm of movie goers. It seemed like every form of promotional material was shat upon without any reliable sources to warrant that type of response. And learning that the iconic all-male cast was being switched to an all-female cast didn’t help convert the naysayers either. That’s sad given the director Paul Feig (Bridesmaids) has true talent behind the camera. Once again he

Read More
MIKE AND DAVE NEED WEDDING DATES Review

MIKE AND DAVE NEED WEDDING DATES Review

Posted 12 months ago By Brandon Keith Avery

We’ve been to weddings and know they all range high and low from all different types of cultures. So what’s so special about another wedding movie that probably won’t be funny and caters to a group of people I can’t relate to? The honesty in the characters’ behavior is what’s so special. On the surface Mike and Dave Need Wedding Dates could easily be ignored as another yawner that you could catch on television some time down the line, but instead it is a cle

Read More
INDEPENDENCE DAY: RESURGENCE Review

INDEPENDENCE DAY: RESURGENCE Review

Posted 12 months ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I have my own reservations about Twentieth Century Fox and the way they adapt feature films. Annoyed with many of their properties, they still delivered one of the greatest movie theater experiences twenty years ago with Independence Day. Having watched the Blu-ray edition just a few weeks prior to seeing the sequel, a few of the effects don’t hold up, but the characters and their relationships do. We saw humans from all different walks of life come together in ways that can’t be i

Read More
THE SHALLOWS Review

THE SHALLOWS Review

Posted 12 months ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I’m not into the beach, surfing, or giant fish. So there wasn’t too much that got my attention when I first learned about The Shallows. There’s big shoes to fill trying to top JAWS. The trailers looked fine though, but I wasn’t counting the days until its release. Knowing director Jaume Collet-Serra was attached did change my attitude towards it. I actually love every film he’s been attached to , House of Wax, Orphan, Unknown, Non-Stop, and Run All Night. To me th

Read More
FREE STATE OF JONES Review

FREE STATE OF JONES Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

It goes without saying that the American Civil War was an extremely dark time in United States history. For years gruesome barbaric events flooded multiple states for all, especially those of color. There’s a number of heroic tales that can be told during this time of mayhem. Wherever you threw a rock it would land in a place that had an unwelcoming presence of pain and torture. So to pick The Free State of Jones out of the bunch as a necessary story to tell must have been compelling. To

Read More
TEENAGE MUTANT NINJA TURTLES: OUT OF THE SHADOWS Review

TEENAGE MUTANT NINJA TURTLES: OUT OF THE SHADOWS Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Growing up my world revolved around a few things, with one being Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. I absolutely loved waking up to this cartoon in the late 80’s and early 90’s. They were fun, goofy characters that went on martial arts adventures and also loved pizza. So shortly after, when the live action films hit the big screen, it was a dream come true. Unfortunately, the technology wasn’t advanced enough to fully flesh out all the greatness this franchise had to offer. Then 2

Read More
CAPTAIN AMERICA: CIVIL WAR Review

CAPTAIN AMERICA: CIVIL WAR Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

For Marvel Studios/Disney to be on their thirteenth film, you’d think superhero fatigue would start to consume the market. Whether it’s with box office receipts, or on screen with repetitive story-telling, a dip in success might have seemed inevitable. Fortunately, this isn’t the case with their latest film, and it appears they’re just scratching the surface with creativity and character arcs. Civil War is in so many ways a dream come true for comic book fans, and conta

Read More
GREEN ROOM Review

GREEN ROOM Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

It’s a big plus to have no clue how a story will end. That’s what Green Room had to offer and so much more. The trailers mislead you in the best of ways, promising a tight edge of your seat thriller, delivering on that promise, but from a completely different angle than you’re expecting. It doesn’t matter if you relate to the characters initially or not, because it’s about them surviving as human beings. What their particular taste in art or fashion is is for anot

Read More
THE HUNTSMAN: WINTER’S WAR Review

THE HUNTSMAN: WINTER’S WAR Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Back in 2012, Universal Pictures decided to take a crack at telling their own version of the classic story of Snow White and the Seven Dwarves. I wasn’t at all interested in the project initially, but my mind changed after learning about the involvement of Chris Hemsworth as one of the leads being the Huntsman. Then finding out Charlize Theron was part of the cast as the antagonist piqued my interest even more. The idea was great, and the film had remarkable performances from all the lea

Read More
BARBERSHOP: THE NEXT CUT Review

BARBERSHOP: THE NEXT CUT Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

In the third installment of the Barbershop franchise, director Malcolm D. Lee takes his turn at the plate. I personally thought the first two films were just ok and didn’t leave anything worth mentioning for future discussion. That isn’t the case with Barbershop: The Next Cut. Mr. Lee placed cast members from the previous two films in prominent and small roles, delivering a film that felt like home. There’s plenty of comedic elements throughout, strong relationships between t

Read More
THE JUNGLE BOOK Review

THE JUNGLE BOOK Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

There’s millions of fans across the world that can’t get enough of what Disney produces. In recent years, their film division decided to start dishing out live action versions of their animated films, and I couldn’t be any happier. While all of their new live action films haven’t been a critical hit, they’ve at least made up the difference in opinion at the box office. I wasn’t a fan of Maleficent or Alice in Wonderland, but enjoyed nearly everything about C

Read More
HARDCORE HENRY Review

HARDCORE HENRY Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

At times it seems like Hollywood is never looking for any new ideas to hit the big screens across the country. So when they do, it’s exciting and can really grab a movie goer’s attention, especially when you throw a first person perspective into the mix. That’s been popular for quite some time and gained my interest back in the 90’s with the 007 Goldeneye videogame. Though, when the trailer first hit for Hardcore Henry, I wasn’t glued to the television excited wit

Read More
BATMAN V SUPERMAN: DAWN OF JUSTICE Review

BATMAN V SUPERMAN: DAWN OF JUSTICE Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I loved Man of Steel. I feel it delivered on everything it promised and exceeded my well placed expectations. It’s in my top 10 comic book movies of all time and contains some of the best action set pieces ever put on screen. Opinions on the movie are split right down the middle, and I am still confused by all the complaints that film has. At the time, I, along with everyone else, had no idea Man of Steel was the introduction to a new cinematic universe for DC comics. And now director Za

Read More
THE DIVERGENT SERIES: ALLEGIANT Review

THE DIVERGENT SERIES: ALLEGIANT Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

When it comes to the films in the Divergent series, I should be running to the theater just to catch a glimpse. They’re visually stunning, contain epic adventures, and have sprinkles of action in all the right places. On the outside they look like a fun rollercoaster, or at least that’s how the studio sold them. Unfortunately, they are more comparable to a McDonald’s play land than what’s promised in the trailers. I wasn’t a fan of the first two films at all. Frus

Read More
THE BRONZE Review

THE BRONZE Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

The Bronze is such an interesting title choice. It’s not the most satisfying award when it comes to placement, but still gains a fair amount of respect. For not being number one in its category, curiosity rises on why such a decision was made in the naming of this film. The title certainly fits the story, but it doesn’t contain a strong foundation to carry it along. What makes matters worse is the main and supporting cast fail to bring anything to the table to balance things out. T

Read More
10 CLOVERFIELD LANE Review

10 CLOVERFIELD LANE Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

January 2008 is when the first Cloverfield film hit theaters, and no one knew what to expect from the found footage approach. The ending could’ve been fleshed out more, but it still paid off as a film that I thoroughly enjoyed. I loved the citywide adventure the characters embarked on. The large question going into 10 Cloverfield Lane is whether it’s connected to the past film or not. Of course there will be no spoilers here. You’ll just have to see the film for yourself. It

Read More
KNIGHT OF CUPS Review

KNIGHT OF CUPS Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Avery

 I don’t view trailers as much as I used to. I’ve learned to appreciate going into some films knowing as little as possible. It can make for a more thrilling experience, but it doesn’t always work out that way. Out of the eight films under the belt of director Terrence Malik, I’ve seen only two of his films; Knight of Cups and The Tree of Life. The latter is a film I choose to never view again. I’d rather be taking an exam than endure its slow pacing and limi

Read More
GODS OF EGYPT Review

GODS OF EGYPT Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Wow! There’s so much I can say, but I’ll try to keep it at normal length. I just have to wonder, at what point is someone supposed to realize they’re making an idiotic mistake; months before the release of a film is too late in my book. Though I’m just one person. Gods of Egypt is a creative, misguided attempt at depicting ancient Egypt in all its glory many years ago. The idea behind this film feels like the voice of a mature child that clashes his action figures toget

Read More
TRIPLE 9 Review

TRIPLE 9 Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

When the trailer for Triple 9 first dropped it startled me. Its brutal and cold blooded nature certainly caught my attention. I didn’t know their motivations, but I was interested in what pushed everyone forward. Their blazing guns impressed me, and an added bonus was all the recognizable faces pulling the trigger. To find out the real meaning behind all the mayhem on the streets intrigued me dearly. The environment felt cold and scary. With me not having seen any of director John Hillco

Read More
EDDIE THE EAGLE Review

EDDIE THE EAGLE Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

There’s no shock value to what’s expected. You’re familiar with its presence, and it makes you comfortable. It’s appreciated and welcomed, but can also run its course becoming tiresome. So when something new comes along, you have more to react to and enjoy. It goes the same with underdogs. Many people like to be surprised, especially when the thought behind such emotions is backed up with passion and love. You gain a respect for all parties involved due to their effort.

Read More
RISEN Review

RISEN Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Given the material, I couldn’t think of a better title for the film. It fits so well, and speaks volumes to the biblical story director Kevin Reynolds was trying to tell. Another film of his is The Count of Monte Cristo, which is one of my favorite stories of all time, so I was even more intrigued with his take on the resurrection of Christ. The last few times a large budgeted biblical story hit theaters, it didn’t turn out that great critically or commercially. Those films were ei

Read More
DEADPOOL Review

DEADPOOL Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Twentieth Century Fox has had their fair share of attempting to adapt comic book properties. While I feel only one of their films is a homerun, and the other a close second (X-Men: First Class, X-Men: Days of Future Past, respectively), the rest are underwhelming disappointments, or epic failures that should be forgotten. Especially with their first try with the titular character in X Men Origins: Wolverine. I wasn’t too hurt though. Deadpool isn’t one of my favorite comic book cha

Read More
RIDE ALONG 2 Review

RIDE ALONG 2 Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

In the weeks leading up to Ride Along in 2014, I was more than thrilled with anticipation. I’ve been a fan of Ice Cube from his first appearances in Boyz n the Hood, Friday, and Anaconda, that started in the early 90’s. Along with his musical career, he was one of the few talents in the African-American community that you could count on. Then with him teaming up with Kevin Hart, who was becoming a known Hollywood actor, provided every reason to be even more excited. Ice Cube played

Read More
THE FOREST Review

THE FOREST Review

Posted 1 year ago By Brandon Keith Avery

The trailers didn’t seem too enticing, but the premise behind the film caught my interest. With it being inspired on true events, I was eager to see what first time director Jason Zada was able to do at the helm. The cinematography that he helped put together was possibly the best portion of the film, along with a decent lead by Natalie Dorman who played Sara. Other than those two aspects, there wasn’t much left to grasp my attention. What started out sloppy at first, soon found it

Read More
THE REVENANT Review

THE REVENANT Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Whether you’ve seen every film released, or just one a month, the style of each title may appear to bleed together. With three to five films being released in one week, it may feel the same form of cinema hit your local theater a few months ago. It takes a unique mind, and a true craftsman to produce something refreshing and new. It’s not an easy task by far, and the chance at finding such talent is as hard as winning from a scratch off ticket. So director Alejandro González

Read More
CAROL Review

CAROL Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

If not winning, Cate Blanchett being at least nominated for an academy award is becoming automatic. Her presence is so pleasant and graceful with every role she takes on. That’s what got me excited for her new film Carol. For a woman to carry so much class, I saw it as a treat to see her in a love story, that some may find desirable. If anyone were able to pull off such a task, it’d be her in an instant. What’s most important is the story that surrounds the cast, because if t

Read More
CONCUSSION Review

CONCUSSION Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Will Smith can knock out any role you throw at him. Portraying the genius mind of Dr. Bennet Omalu, he brought forth a performance that will change the way you look at the sport of football forever. As the film suggests, the National Football League owns a day of the week, and before you know it, that number is sure to rise. It’s a sport that’s loved by millions of fans across the world (mostly in the states), and It’s hard to imagine a life without it. It means so much to so

Read More
THE BIG SHORT Review

THE BIG SHORT Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

The credit and housing bubble in 2008 was a difficult time for everyone. You might have lost your job, had to leave your home, or a combination of the two. It’s a time that has passed, but the wounds may not have completely healed. It was rough, and you wouldn’t be alone if you never wanted to go through that again. The only positive aspect from such a nightmare, could be from what lessons we all learned. Usually delving into the world of comedy, director Adam McKay goes beyond the

Read More
SISTERS Review

SISTERS Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Surprising just about everyone in 2012, director Jason Moore shocked America with the collegiate Bardon Bella’s, hitting the stage with rhythmic beats in Pitch Perfect. Saying I was blown away by this film is an understatement. This time he’s back with the Saturday Night Live couple Tina Fey, and Amy Poehler. While I’m more of a fan of Tina Fey, the trailers got me excited for a sibling mashup between the two in their adult years. It seemed like a given that these two would p

Read More
STAR WARS: THE FORCE AWAKENS Review

STAR WARS: THE FORCE AWAKENS Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

The Star Wars franchise means so much to so many people. I remember being in elementary school back in 94’ and seeing the original trilogy for the first time on laser disc at an overnight after school function. Like myself along with millions of other fans, it struck a chord with us that helped mold our childhood that defined classic filmmaking. It set the staple for epic storytelling, deep characters, and has a nostalgic factor that most likely will never be toppled. After the atrocious

Read More
IN THE HEART OF THE SEA Review

IN THE HEART OF THE SEA Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Who wouldn’t sign up to see the leading man in Thor (Chris Hemsworth) hunting a number of whales out at sea? Especially with director Ron Howard (Rush) at the helm. Then throw into the mix the legendary tale of Moby Dick. So what more could you ask for? The average movie goer probably wouldn’t be too excited, but a film enthusiast like myself was overjoyed when I found out the news. You’ve probably heard of the fictional story of the great white whale, but may not have heard

Read More
MACBETH Review

MACBETH Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

From the mind of Shakespeare the story of Macbeth fills the screen. This time Director Justin Kurzel makes an attempt at adapting the book and/or play, and I applaud him for the effort he put forth. The film is filled with an academy nominated cast, so expectations were high in anticipation of greatness. The book laid the hammer down many years ago, but the play was art before my time. Whether you’ve read the book or not, from beginning to end the transition in the film should be smooth.

Read More
CHI-RAQ Review

CHI-RAQ Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Director Spike Lee has been around for quite some time now, and his films never seem to get old. You never know what you’re going to get, which alone is a refreshing feeling when choosing your seat at the movie theater. That’s how I always approach his films, and this time it wasn’t any different. With the sensitive subject of gang violence in parts of the African-American community, Spike Lee decides to adapt the Greek play ‘Lysistrata’ tied in with the countless

Read More
KRAMPUS Review

KRAMPUS Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I can learn to appreciate a popular fictional character flipped upside down for grins. That’s what I thought the premise of Krampus entailed. Not knowing much about the source material, I wanted to go into this experience with an open mind hoping to be surprised. The concept isn’t completely ridiculous, for the fact that we live in a world where an Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter film was greenlit into production. In some cultures the real meaning of Christmas has been destroyed, an

Read More
CREED Movie Review

CREED Movie Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

As great as the first five Rocky films were, I could understand you thinking another sequel to that franchise would be overkill. It would be an interesting debate, given their non-realistic boxing matches, over the top campiness, yet they still contained deep entertaining highly motivating themes. Fortunately this isn’t a Rocky sequel, but a start to a new franchise in the Rocky universe that stands remotely on its own. With fear that this film would rely on connective tissue from the pa

Read More
VICTOR FRANKENSTEIN Review

VICTOR FRANKENSTEIN Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

If you were to tell me you didn’t care to see another reincarnation of the Victor Frankenstein story, I’d have a hard time arguing with you. We all know the story of Igor and Frankenstein, and have heard it countless times. With the millions of dollars Hollywood throws at random productions, most would hope those funds would go to something more original. Considering a reboot, the point is to tell the story you know, but from a completely different angle. Director Paul McGuigan (Pu

Read More
SECRET IN THEIR EYES Review

SECRET IN THEIR EYES Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Based on the 2005 novel that was titled ‘The Question in Their Eyes’ by Eduardo Sacheri, director/writer Billy Ray (Breach, Shattered Glass) takes a swing at adapting it for an American audience. After viewing his version, I’m more than curious to see what the original source material entails. Filled with an Academy Award winning cast, this story is full of surprises you won’t see coming, and provides insight on the hardships of an FBI Agent. It contains a unique form o

Read More
THE HUNGER GAMES: MOCKINGJAY PART 2 Review

THE HUNGER GAMES: MOCKINGJAY PART 2 Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

When director Francis Lawrence hit the scene, taking over The Hunger Games franchise, he blew me away. While already loving the first film in the series, he gave us more of the same, but cranked it up to a whole other level. It was better than the first film across the board. So when I found out he was attached to Mockingjay, I had every reason to be excited. News then dropped of a split in storytelling between the last book, and my fears started to rise. In most cases when this is done, the s

Read More
MY ALL AMERICAN Review

MY ALL AMERICAN Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

If I had to choose one sport over them all, it undoubtedly would be football. Also being from Texas, I was sure these two were the perfect marriage for a dramatic biography that would resonate with me. With an A-class talent leading the way by Aaron Eckhart, expecting a remarkable rendition of past events that strikes you emotionally isn’t much to ask for. While paying respect to the true story, it tried a number of times to get you on board, but you’re too fatigued to welcome it a

Read More
SPECTRE Review

SPECTRE Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

I don’t know what it is about James Bond, but there’s something about his character that will never cease to amaze. It’s not like he’s the perfect human being. He’s an arrogant, rude, womanizing smart ass that’s always breaking the rules. That’s usually a formula for disaster, but you can still count on him until the end. Maybe it’s the way he gets it all done that makes you love the guy. Regardless of any negative assumptions one may have, he of

Read More
THE PEANUTS MOVIE Review

THE PEANUTS MOVIE Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Keith Avery

Charlie Brown, Charlie Brown, Charlie Brown! Nearly everyone loves Charlie Brown. He was a part of growing up for countless decades in the past that brought smiles to many faces. Based on the Peanuts Comic Strip, The Peanuts Movie dives back in time to the adorable low self-esteemed boy that reminds you that everyone doesn’t have the best of days. The unforeseen terrors of life can be a burden, and doubting yourself, thinking twice, or failing miserably is exactly what this film is about

Read More
BURNT Review

BURNT Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Avery

I’ll be honest admitting that I enjoy the fine delicacies of fast food, but like most I prefer the slow preparation of my meals over a hot stove. Home cooked meals have a relation to this notion, but the quality of the final product goes far beyond the necessary ingredients. Besides knowing how to measure and stir, it’s the love inside the kitchen that cranks your taste buds to the next level. It’s not realistic to expect this type of service at your average restaurant, but i

Read More
ROOM Review

ROOM Review

Posted 2 years ago By Brandon Avery

I haven’t had the chance to travel the world, but one day I will embracing all its glory. It’s just so big, and knowing where to go first can be a daunting task. I wouldn’t know what to think if my world was confined to the size of a large closet. Trying to wrap my head around that is harder than comprehending all the stars in space. Even thinking about it is frightening, and I’m terrified from the many souls that had to go through this. As we all are products of our en

Read More

Please Like on Facebook